• "Fight the Good Fight": Fleeger Awarded TMA's Highest Honor

    Alt Tag  

    TMA bestowed its highest honor, the Distinguished Service Award, upon Austin colon and rectal surgeon David C. Fleeger, MD, for his confident leadership during difficult times. More on a career of service.

    More on a Career of Service  
  • Texas Physician Leaders Win Top AMA Honors for Pandemic Achievements

    Advancing COVID-19 vaccines and countering vaccine misinformation. Going to great lengths to secure personal protective equipment. Bolstering physician morale and professionalism in turbulent times.

    The awards were presented Saturday during the general session of the Texas Medical Association’s virtual 2022 Winter Conference.

  • AMA Honors TMA Attorney With Lifetime Achievement Award

    Alt Tag  

    TMA presented its inaugural Laurance N. Nickey, MD, Lifetime Achievement Award to Robert W. Haley, MD, director of the Division of Epidemiology at UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas and a TMA physician leader. Doctors presented the award Saturday at the 2020 TMA Winter Conference in Austin.

    Outstanding Contributions to Medicine in Public Health  
  • AMA Honors TMA Attorney With Lifetime Achievement Award

    Alt Tag  

    The American Medical Association has honored Donald P. “Rocky” Wilcox, vice president and general counsel of the Texas Medical Association, with the Medical Executive Lifetime Achievement Award. The award honors a medical association executive who has contributed substantially to the goals and ideals of the medical profession.

    More About “Rocky” Wilcox  
  • Special Interest Sections

  • Award To Recognize Outstanding Texas IMGs

    Alt Tag  

    The Texas Medical Association International Medical Graduate (TMA IMG) Section recognized Gilberto A. Handal, MD, of El Paso, with the IMG Section Outstanding Physician Award today for his commitment to improving the health of his community beyond his medical practice. The TMA IMG physicians presented the award during TexMed 2021, TMA’s annual conference.

    Submit your nomination for the Outstanding Physician Award by Feb. 21.

    Learn More About
    Dr. Gilberto A. Handal
  • TMA Resident and Fellow: J.T. “Lamar” McNew, MD, Award 

    Dallas neurosurgeon Bradley Lega, MD, has received the J.T. “Lamar” McNew, MD, Award for his service to physicians-in-training, or medical residents. TMA Resident and Fellow Section recognized Dr. Lega during TexMed, TMA’s annual meeting, in Houston.

    The award honors a TMA physician who has provided outstanding mentoring and service to residents and fellows — medical school graduates completing specialty training prior to practicing medicine on their own.

    Meet Dr. Bradley Lega

  • Dallas Physician Receives TMA’s Young at Heart Award

    Alt Tag  

    Dallas nephrologist Steven R. Hays, MD, is the 2020 Texas Medical Association (TMA) Young at Heart Award recipient. Doctors from the TMA Young Physician Section (YPS) announced the award during TMA’s House of Delegates meeting, held virtually last month.

    More About Steven R. Hays, MD  
  • TMA Medical Students Awards

    Awarded each year at TMA's annual meeting.

    Chapter of the Year -UT Southwestern Medical School its 2022 Chapter of the Year.

    TMA Medical Student Section (TMA-MSS) chapter of the year. Awarded annually to the chapter of TMA that exemplifies leadership, dedication, and service to TMA, the AMA, their respective Medical Student Sections, and all Texans. At TexMed 1998, TMA-MSS established the Outstanding Chapter of the Year award. This award recognizes the TMA-MSS Chapter which serves the section and excels in furthering TMA-MSS goals and policies for a better Texas.

    Student of the Year - Kate Russell

    Awarded annually to the Texas medical student exemplifying outstanding service to TMA's Medical Student Section. At TexMed 1998, TMA-MSS established the Outstanding Student on the Year award. This award recognizes a student member which serves the section and excels in furthering TMA-MSS goals and policies for a better Texas. Any medical student (except current TMA-MSS Executive Council members) is eligible to receive this award.

    C. Frank Webber, MD Award - Arlo F. Weltge, MD, Houston emergency physician.

    Created in 1987, the C. Frank Webber, MD Award is given annually by the TMA Student Section to honor a Texas physician for his or her outstanding service to the Medical Student Section and its members. The award is given in recognition of Dr. Webber’s leadership and dedication to medical students.  His efforts prompted the development of the strong student organization within TMA.

  • TMA is helping to strengthen your practice by offering advice and creating a climate of medical success across the state.

  • What could a TMA membership mean for you, your practice, and your patients?

  • Scholarships and Awards Articles

    Excellence in Science Teaching Awards

    These awards were created in 1990 to honor elementary, middle, and high school teachers who share their energy and enthusiasm for science through creative and innovative methods to cultivate student interest in medicine and science.

    Meet Our 2022 Winners
  • Anson Jones, MD Award

    Alt Tag  

    TMA honors journalists from across the state for excellence in health reporting each year with the TMA Anson Jones, MD, Awards. Print, broadcast, and online journalists are recognized in 10 categories, including the Texas Health Journalist of the Year. A physician journalist also is recognized. TMA physicians present the awards to journalists in newsroom ceremonies or at local county medical society meetings. Journalists may enter their works in the competition or be nominated by a TMA member physician or medical student, county medical society, or TMA Alliance member. TMA has presented the awards since 1957. They are named after pioneer physician, statesman, and prolific writer Anson Jones, MD.

    More About Anson Jones, MD Awards