Scholarships and Awards

  • Distinguished Service Award


    Robert T. Gunby Jr., MD, a Dallas physician has been honored with the 2017 Texas Medical Association (TMA) Distinguished Service Award. He received TMA’s top honor during TexMed 2017, the association’s annual conference in Houston. TMA’s Board of Councilors ethics body selected him for the award.


    Congratulations to Dr. Gunby  
  • TMAF Honors Champions

    Alt Tag  

    TMA Foundation presented its 2017 John P. McGovern Champion of Health Awards to two Texas programs that that are creating a "Healthy Now" and a "Healthy Future." This year’s top winner is the “Seed to Soul” – Growing Healthy Families From the Garden to Table, a program of Promise of Peace Gardens, Dallas. The second place winner is the WATCH Champions of Health Award of the Fort Bend Independent School District.

    More About the Winners  
  • Special Interest Sections

  • TMA Resident and Fellow: J.T. “Lamar” McNew, MD, Award 

    Galveston radiation oncologist Martin Colman, MD, has received the J.T. “Lamar” McNew, MD, Award for his service to physicians-in-training, or medical residents. The Texas Medical Association Resident and Fellow Section (TMA-RFS) recognized Dr. Colman today during TexMed, TMA’s annual meeting, in Dallas.

    The award honors a TMA physician who has provided outstanding mentoring and service to residents and fellows — medical school graduates completing specialty training prior to practicing medicine on their own.

    Meet Dr. Martin Coleman

  • TMA Young Physicians: Young at Heart Award

    New Braunfels retired radiologist Joel Dunnington, MD, is the 2017 Texas Medical Association (TMA) Young at Heart Award recipient. Doctors from the TMA Young Physician Section presented the award during TexMed, TMA’s annual conference, in Houston.

    The Young Physician Section (YPS), a group of TMA physicians under the age of 40 or in their first eight years of medical practice, chose Dr. Dunnington for his commitment to helping young physicians become tomorrow’s leaders in the association, and inspiring them to speak out for the health of all Texans

    More About Dr. Joel Dunnington  

  • TMA Medical Students Awards

    Awarded each year at TMA's annual meeting.

    Chapter of the Year - Baylor College of Medicine

    TMA Medical Student Section (TMA-MSS) chapter of the year. Awarded annually to the chapter of TMA that exemplifies leadership, dedication, and service to TMA, the AMA, their respective Medical Student Sections, and all Texans. At TexMed 1998, TMA-MSS established the Outstanding Chapter of the Year award. This award recognizes the TMA-MSS Chapter which serves the section and excels in furthering TMA-MSS goals and policies for a better Texas.

    Student of the Year - Hayley Rogers

    Awarded annually to the Texas medical student exemplifying outstanding service to TMA's Medical Student Section. At TexMed 1998, TMA-MSS established the Outstanding Student on the Year award. This award recognizes a student member which serves the section and excels in furthering TMA-MSS goals and policies for a better Texas. Any medical student (except current TMA-MSS Executive Council members) is eligible to receive this award.

    C. Frank Webber, MD Award - Cedric Dark, MD, Houston emergency physician.

    Created in 1987, the C. Frank Webber, MD Award is given annually by the TMA Student Section to honor a Texas physician for his or her outstanding service to the Medical Student Section and its members. The award is given in recognition of Dr. Webber’s leadership and dedication to medical students.  His efforts prompted the development of the strong student organization within TMA.

  • TMA is helping to strengthen your practice by offering personal advice and creating a climate of medical success across the state.

  • What could a TMA membership mean for you, your practice, and your patients?

  • Scholarships and Awards Articles

    Excellence in Science Teaching Awards

    The Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching are awarded each year to exceptional science teachers at the elementary, middle, and high school levels. Each top recipient receives a cash prize along with a resource grant for their schools' science programs.

    Nominate an Outstanding Teacher
  • Anson Jones, MD Award

    Alt Tag  

    TMA honors journalists from across the state for excellence in health reporting each year with the TMA Anson Jones, MD, Awards. Print, broadcast, and online journalists are recognized in 10 categories, including the Texas Health Journalist of the Year. A physician journalist also is recognized. TMA physicians present the awards to journalists in newsroom ceremonies or at local county medical society meetings. Journalists may enter their works in the competition or be nominated by a TMA member physician or medical student, county medical society, or TMA Alliance member. TMA has presented the awards since 1957. They are named after pioneer physician, statesman, and prolific writer Anson Jones, MD.

    More About Anson Jones, MD Awards  
  • Award for Excellence in Academic Medicine 


    The TMA Award for Excellence in Academic Medicine is a multi-level award program developed to give special recognition to academic physicians who are consummate teachers, role models, and medical professionals. TMA is eager to recognize Texas physician leaders who have simultaneously dedicated their lives to the care of their patients and to the preparation of the physician workforce of tomorrow. The value of our academic leaders to the family of medicine is priceless.

    Awards for Excellence  
  • Investing in the Future of Medicine


    TMA Loan Funds provide low interest loans and a variety of scholarship opportunities for medical students and resident physicians. Read more about the funds available, access helpful tools and links, or access your account online. 

    TMA Loans and Scholarships