John P. McGovern Champion of Health Award

2024 John P. McGovern Champion of Health Award

Nominate a "Champion"

February 15, 2024  
Nominated programs will have until Feb 29 to complete their entry

Bronze statue and
$7,500 program grant

TMAF Gala Wonderland
May 3, 2024, 6:30-10:30 pm
Dallas, During TMA's TexMed 2024

About the Award

 The Champion of Health Award focuses on exceptional projects that address urgent threats to the public's health, address TMA science and public health priorities, and further TMAF's mission: to help physicians create a healthier future for all Texans. Established in 1995, the award has recognized local and statewide programs including Fit Worth, Hope Medical Clinic, the Mission of Mercy Mobile Medical Clinics, Caring for Children Foundation of Texas, Children Nutrition Program of the Texas Department of Agriculture, Healthy High/Healthy Choices by Schulenburg Weimar in Focus Together, The Cancer and Chronic Disease Consortium of El Paso, and Julie Rogers "Gift of Life" Program. The top winner receives a $7,500 award to be used towards the winning program and the secondary winner receives a $3,000 grant.   

About John P. McGovern, MD (1921-2007)

 TMA Foundation celebrates the legacy of John P. McGovern, MD, Houston, which includes his generous support of this program. The award incorporates many of the ideals Dr. McGovern valued including high impact, innovative programs that improve the health of all Texans and that are “champions” of good health in their communities. A noted allergist, scholar, philanthropist, long-time donor to TMA Foundation, and “Champion of Health,” John P. McGovern, MD endowed the foundation’s prestigious Champion of Health Award in 2004 to recognize outstanding community-based programs that promote good health through partnerships and measurable results. Dr. McGovern was passionately interested in the history and the philosophy of medicine and helped to found the American Osler Society, which honors medicine’s important historical figures and stresses a physician’s need to be ethical, charitable and intellectually resourceful. He received dozens of awards for his research, service and philanthropy including The Private Sector Initiative Commendation from former President Ronald Reagan and The Surgeon General’s Medallion awarded by C. Everett Koop, MD, ScD. TMA Foundation is proud to honor his memory by presenting this award.

For more information please contact TMA Foundation at (800) 880-1300, ext. 1664, or (512) 370-1664. Or email sean.dunham[at]texmed[dot]org

Last Updated On

October 02, 2023

Originally Published On

March 23, 2010