2020 TMA Anson Jones, MD, Award Winners

  • TMA Honors Health Reporting Excellence

    JeffTMA honored journalists from around the state who did an outstanding job reporting about health issues with its 63rd Anson Jones, MD, Awards.

    The awards recognize print, broadcast, and online journalists in 11 categories. A 12th category honors physician and medical student journalists. Journalists self-submit their works or are nominated by a TMA Family member.

    The awards are named after pioneer physician, statesman, and prolific writer Anson Jones, MD.

    Pictured: Jess Huff, reporter at The Lufkin Daily News, displays her awards.

  • Texas Health Journalist of the Year

    Lauren Caruba
    San Antonio Express-News

    Texas Health Journalist of the Year Honorable Mentions
    Jess Huff
    The Lufkin Daily News

    Bonnie Petrie
    Texas Public Radio, San Antonio

    Sophie Novack
    Texas Observer

  • Print Category

    Small-Circulation Print Winner
    Jess Huff
    The Lufkin Daily News

    Small-Circulation Print Honorable Mention
    Ciara McCarthy and Emree Weaver
    Victoria Advocate

    Large-Circulation Print Winner
    Tara Haelle
    The Dallas Morning News

    In-Depth Print Winner
    Christopher Collins and Sophie Novack
    Texas Observer

    In-Depth Print Honorable Mention
    Lauren Caruba, Billy Calzada, Mike Fisher, Kin Man Hui, and Bob Owen
    San Antonio Express-News

  • Radio Category

    Short Radio Winner
    Clayton Neville
    WBAP News Talk

    Short Radio Honorable Mention
    Bonnie Petrie
    Texas Public Radio, San Antonio

    In-Depth Radio Winner
    David Martin Davies, Kim Johnson, and Dallas Williams (The Source)
    Texas Public Radio, San Antonio

    In-Depth Radio Honorable Mention
    Laura Rice, Shelly Brisbin, Kristen Cabrera, Caroline Covington, Joy Díaz, Wells Dunbar, Terri Langford, and Leah Scarpelli
    Texas Standard

  • Television Category

    Small-Market Television Winner
    Karin McCay, Caleb Holder, Eli Fierro, and Samuel Ortega
    KCBD-TV, Lubbock

    Small-Market Television Honorable Mentions
    Ke’Sha Lopez
    KWTX-TV, Waco
    Ke’Sha Lopez KWTX-TV, Waco

    Large-Market Television Winner
    Sonia Azad and Robin Carter
    WFAA-TV, Dallas

    In-Depth Television Winner
    Linda Angelle, Poinesha Barnes, Wayne Carter, Bianca Castro, and Mark Muller
    KXAS-TV NBC 5, Dallas-Fort Worth

    In-Depth Television Honorable Mention
    Sonia Azad
    WFAA-TV, Dallas

  • Online/Mixed Media Category

    Online Single Article/Blog Winner
    Edgar Walters
    The Texas Tribune

    Online Single Article/Blog Honorable Mention
    Sophie Novack
    Texas Observer

    Online/Mixed Media Package Winner
    Laura Beil

    Online/Mixed Media Package Honorable Mention
    Elizabeth Byrne and Shiying Cheng
    The Texas Tribune

  • Physician Excellence in Reporting Category

    Hussain Lalani, MD, MPH, and Justin Lowenthal
    The Dallas Morning News