2021 TMA Anson Jones, MD, Award Winners

  • TMA Honors Health Reporting Excellence

    JeffTMA honored journalists from around the state who did an outstanding job reporting about health issues with its 64th Anson Jones, MD, Awards.

    The awards recognize print, broadcast, and online journalists in 11 categories. Journalists self-submit their works or are nominated by a TMA Family member.

    The awards are named after pioneer physician, statesman, and prolific writer Anson Jones, MD.

    Pictured: Tony Plohetski, Austin American-Statesman reporter, receives his award from TMA Past President David C. Fleeger, MD.

  • Texas Health Journalist of the Year

    Lauren Caruba
    San Antonio Express-News

    Texas Health Journalist of the Year Honorable Mentions
    William Joy
    WFAA-TV, Dallas-Fort Worth

    Bonnie Petrie
    KSTX, San Antonio

  • Print Category

    Small-Circulation Print Winner
    Mark Rosenberg
    Victoria Advocate

    Small-Circulation Print Honorable Mention
    Grace Juarez
    The Lufkin Daily News

    Large-Circulation Print Winner
    Lauren Caruba and Bob Owen
    San Antonio-Express

    In-Depth Print Winner
    Tony Plohetski
    Austin American-Statesma

    In-Depth Print Honorable Mention
    Sophie Novack
    Texas Observer

  • Radio Category

    Short Radio Winner
    Bonnie Petrie
    KSTX, San Antonio

    In-Depth Radio Winner
    Sara Willa Ernst
    Houston Public Media

  • Television Category

    Small-Market Television Winner
    Joshua Skinner
    KOSA-TV (CBS-7), Midland-Odessa

    Small-Market Television Honorable Mention
    Monica DeAnda and Axel Divino
    KRGV Channel 5 News, Rio Grande Valley

    Large-Market Television Winner
    Jon Goss and William Joy
    WFAA-TV, Dallas

    Large-Market Television Honorable Mentions
    Jenni Lee and Heikki Mustonen
    KVUE-TV, Austin

    Wes Rapaport
    KXAN-TV, Austin

    Steven Dial and Stephen Smith
    Fox 4 KDFW, Dallas-Fort Worth

    In-Depth Television Winner
    Jon Goss and William Joy
    WFAA-TV, Dallas

    In-Depth Television Honorable Mention
    Eric Lefenfeld, Wes Rapaport, and John Thomas
    KXAN-TV, Austin

  • Online/Mixed Media Category

    Online Single Article/Blog Winner
    Jennifer Prohov and Tasha Tsipaeras
    WFAA-TV, Dallas-Fort Worth

    Online Single Article/Blog Honorable Mention
    Shawn Arrajj
    Community Impact Newsletter

    Online/Mixed Media Package Winner
    Fernanda Camarena, Bonnie Petrie, Michael Treviño, and Dominic Walsh
    KSTX, San Antonio

    Online/Mixed Media Package Honorable Mentions
    Stephanie Adeline, Audrey Carlsen, Bret Jaspers, Sean McMinn, and Ruth Talbot
    KERA/NPR, Dallas-Fort Worth

    Sonia Azad and Jennifer Prohov
    WFAA-TV, Dallas-Fort Worth