TMA Presidents Page

  • Edinburg Physician Becomes TMA President

    Alt Tag  

    The Texas Medical Association (TMA) installed Edinburg emergency internist E. Linda Villarreal, MD, as its 156th president. Dr. Villarreal was sworn in by a small gathering of the TMA Board of Trustees; departing TMA President Diana L. Fite, MD; and speakers of the TMA House of Delegates policymaking body during TexMed, TMA’s annual conference. Most attendees watched the conference virtually this year. She will lead America’s largest state medical society for one year.

    More About Dr. Villarreal  
  • From the Valley to the Top: Incoming President E. Linda Villarreal, MD

    Alt Tag  

    TMA President E. Linda Villarreal, MD, has pursued medicine – and the betterment of the profession – through every conceivable end and repeated personal trials.

    More About Her Journey to Medicine and More  
  • TMA Urges House Committee to Bolster Border Care Access

    Alt Tag  

    With 30 years of experience practicing primary care medicine in the Rio Grande Valley, Edinburg internist and TMA's President E. Linda Villarreal, MD, has unique insight into the region’s health care needs and how state lawmakers can build on previous legislation to address them.

    Learn More  

    TMA is helping to strengthen your practice by offering advice and creating a climate of medical success across the state. 

  • What could a TMA membership mean for you, your practice, and your patients?

  • TMA Leadership Through The Ages

    Alt Tag  

    TMA’s History of Medicine Committee presents an online exhibit featuring portraits and short biographical sketches of all TMA presidents. Read the biographies in the notes section below each slide and learn interesting facts about TMA presidents. This online exhibit is a work in progress. More biographies will be added during the year. 

    See TMA Presidents 1853-1903