May Owen, MD, Outreach Program


The May Owen, MD, Outreach Program is a grant program of the TMA Women Physicians Section (TMA-WPS) that provides funding to bring female physician-oriented programs and activities to small and mid-sized county medical societies.

Apply  |  Overview  |  Guidelines |   Resources  |  Templates  |  About May Owen, MD

How to Apply 
Applicants must submit a request through the application. The application is open year-round; however, funding is available only once a year to each organization.

General Overview

  • Funding is available to small and mid-size county medical societies with at least 80 members; in some cases programs can be in collaboration with a metro county medical society.
  • Applicants must guarantee physicians attendance of at least 15.
  • An applicant’s previously scheduled women physicians’ event, including annual events, is not eligible for grant funding.
  • TMA Insurance Trust is a pinnacle sponsor of this program. Events that have additional sponsors are ineligible for grant funding.  

Applicants agree to:

  • Coordinate all logistics and promotion for the event, place TMA and TMA Insurance Trust logos on all event promotional materials, and display thank you signage and distribute branded collateral provided by TMA.
  • Answer a brief survey and submit your budget and attendance report. The attendance report should include the full name, email address, and TMA member ID or medical license number for each physician attendee. 
  • Follow all CME guidelines if providing an ACCME accredited CME presentation.

See FAQs for more details about the program and funding available.

Using the address and attendance numbers included in the application, TMA staff will mail branded collateral to distribute to your attendees and cobranded thank you signage to display.

About May Owen, MD 
May Owen, MD (1892-1988), was TMA’s first female president (1960). Dr. Owen was a pathologist from Fort Worth who discovered that if the talcum powder then used on surgical gloves fell into a wound, it caused infection and other problems. She accomplished other firsts, too:
  • First woman to graduate from what is now the University of Louisville School of Medicine in Kentucky;
  • First female president of the Texas Society of Pathologists in 1946; and
  • First female president of the Tarrant County Medical Society in 1947.

As TMA president, Dr. Owen established TMA’s Physicians Benevolent Fund to help physicians in times of distress. Since 1961, the fund has distributed more than $4.38 million in financial assistance. She also established the May Owen Irrevocable Trust through TMA to provide low-interest loans to medical students. In addition, Dr. Owen helped provide Texas Tech University Health Science Center library with its first 20,000 volumes and established the school’s first endowed chair. 

She was the 1958 recipient of the Texas Society of Pathologists’ Caldwell Award, the 1969 recipient of TMA’s Distinguished Service Award, and was inducted into the Texas Woman’s University Texas Women’s Hall of Fame in 1986.

TMA Insurance Trust 
TMA Insurance Trust is a pinnacle sponsor of TMA’s Sections.

Last Updated On

February 23, 2024

Originally Published On

June 08, 2023

Related Content

Women in medicine | Womens Health