Dallas Neurosurgeon Receives TMA Award

May 2, 2022

 Corrected Dr. Bradley Lega Gets Award at TexMed 600x400

Dallas neurosurgeon Bradley Lega, MD, has received the 2022 J.T. “Lamar” McNew, MD, Award for his service to physicians-in-training. The Texas Medical Association Resident and Fellow Section recognized Dr. Lega during TexMed, TMA’s annual conference, in Houston. 

 “I am truly honored to receive this award from TMA,” said Dr. Lega. “I have tremendous respect for the physicians in our state who work hard to advocate for our profession via the association, which makes me appreciate their recognition.”

The award celebrates a TMA physician who has provided outstanding mentoring and service to residents and fellows – medical school graduates completing specialty training prior to practicing medicine on their own.

“Certainly, the accomplishments of the medical students and residents I have taught reflect their own motivation and talent, and I am lucky to have the chance to work with them,” said Dr. Lega.

The honoree has been in practice for nine years. Dr. Lega is an associate professor in the Department of Neurological Surgery at UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas. He specializes in surgical treatment of brain tumors and epilepsy.  

Dr. Lega, a TMA member for seven years, is a member of the Dallas County Medical Society. He also belongs to several other professional organizations, including the American Association of Neurological Surgeons, the Congress of Neurological Surgeons, and the Society for Neuroscience.

Vin Shen Ban, MD, a resident physician at UT Southwestern, nominated Dr. Lega for the award. He said Dr. Lega “is always happy to work with residents, from intern level to chief resident. In his operating room, he is incredibly patient with the residents.”

Dr. Ban said Dr. Lega makes time to help residents, despite juggling many professional commitments. “He has gone above and beyond in helping the chief residents at the county hospital by making himself available – even at short notice and on weekends – to staff a variety of urgent and elective cases,” Dr. Ban said.

Dr. Lega earned his medical degree at Baylor College of Medicine. He completed his neurological surgery residency at the University of Pennsylvania and received advanced training through a fellowship in epilepsy surgery at the Cleveland Clinic.

The award is named for Dr. McNew, a retired Bryan physician who served in the Brazos Valley region for many years and who was a primary provider of obstetrical services to area women covered by Medicaid. Dr. McNew also taught at the Texas A&M Health Science Center for 20 years.          

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing nearly 56,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.


TMA Contacts:  Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; cell: (512) 656-7320; email: brent.annear@texmed.org

Swathi Narayanan (512) 370-1382; cell: (408) 987-1318; email: swathi.narayanan@texmed.org

Connect with TMA on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.



Last Updated On

May 16, 2022

Originally Published On

May 02, 2022

Related Content

Leadership | TexMed