• TMA Leadership

    • Dallas Physician Becomes TMA President

      The Texas Medical Association (TMA) installed Dallas surgeon Don R. Read, MD, as its 151st president. He took office in a ceremony before TMA’s House of Delegates policymaking body at TexMed, TMA’s annual conference, in Dallas. He will lead America’s largest state medical society for one year.
  • TMA Leadership Team Fights for Your Patients

    • Biography of TMA President Don R. Read, MD
      Dr. Read has served in various leadership capacities, including chair of the TMA Board of Trustees. He was the founding chair of the TMA PracticeEdge Board of Managers in 2015. Dr. Read was president of the Dallas County Medical Society in 2002 and was chair of TMA's Patient-Physician Advocacy Committee during 2006–07. He is a past president of the Texas Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons.
    • TMA Leadership Through the Ages
      TMA’s History of Medicine Committee presents an online exhibit featuring portraits and short biographical sketches of all TMA presidents beginning with the organization of the State Medical Association of Texas in 1853. Read the biographies in the notes section below each slide. And, check out the page of interesting facts about TMA presidents. This online exhibit is a work in progress; we will add more biographies during the year.
    • The TMA Leadership College
      The TMA Leadership College (TMALC) was established in 2010 as part of TMA's effort to ensure strong and sustainable physician leadership with organized medicine. TMALC graduates serve as thought leaders who can close the divide among clinicians and health care policymakers, and as trusted leaders within their local communities.