Related Stories

Program Overview - 04/19/2024

Guidelines, application process, and costs for the TMA Leadership College.

Fingerprinting Services to Be Offered at TexMed - 04/18/2024

Because many Texas physicians now are required to provide fingerprints to renew their medical licenses, the Texas Medical Association has contracted with Idemia to make these services available onsite at TexMed 2024 for registered conference attendees.

Schedule-at-a-Glance - 04/16/2024

Scholars must complete all of the following programs to graduate from the program.

TMA Moment in Time: SGR Repeal - 04/09/2024

The historic victory has roots in TMA advocacy and may provide a playbook for future Medicare reform.

TMA Moment in Time: AMA Presidents - 04/09/2024

Texas' git-er-done approach has launched TMA physicians to the AMA presidency.

New TMA Section Leaders to be Appointed at TexMed - 04/05/2024

Now is the time to apply for one of several open positions available for section leadership as TexMed 2024 approaches, May 2-4, at the Omni Dallas Hotel.

Testify Online on TMA Business Items by April 12 - 04/03/2024

As delegates prepare for the Texas Medical Association’s annual policymaking meeting next month, members have until April 12 to submit online testimony on business items to be considered by the House of Delegates at TexMed in Dallas, May 2-4.

Cultivating Healthy Communities: TMA's Strategic Plan Prioritizes Wellness for Patients and Physicians - 04/01/2024

The second goal in the Texas Medical Association's five-pronged strategic plan is to build health communities through physician relations so patients and physicians can achieve peak wellness.

Lifelong Leadership: TMA Debuts Development Program for Physicians at Every Career Stage - 04/01/2024

The Texas Medical Association's new Lifelong Leadership Program is a self-paced, 18-month program free to any TMA member physician; along with the Leadership College and the Leadership Summit, the program responds to members' requests for more career development opportunities.

Straight Shooter: Incoming TMA President Ray Callas, MD, Aims for Practice Protections, Membership Gains - 04/01/2024

Incoming Texas Medical Association President Ray Callas, MD, an anesthesiologist from Beaumont, cites as his top priorities preventing scope-of-practice creep, defending physician autonomy, and bolstering the TMA's membership.

Championing Physician Leadership: Strategic Plan Aims to Cultivate Leaders - 03/05/2024

TMA’s strategic plan aims to cultivate skilled physician leaders.

TMA to Start 2024 Listening Tour - 02/29/2024

The TMA Board of Trustees, leadership, and staff are hitting the road in 2024 to learn directly from Texas physicians what is working, what isn’t, and what TMA can do to ensure Texas is the best place to practice medicine.

TMA Board of Trustees 2023 - 2024 - 02/27/2024

TMA Board of Trustees

Board Member Highlight: Gregory Fuller, MD - 02/27/2024

Gregory M. Fuller, MD, became secretary/treasurer of the TMA Board of Trustees in May 2023 during TexMed, TMA’s annual conference.

Board Member Highlight: Jayesh Shah, MD - 02/27/2024

San Antonio internist and undersea and hyperbaric medicine specialist Jayesh B. “Jay” Shah, MD, began serving as secretary of the TMA Board of Trustees in May 2023. Soon after he started his private practice, Dr. Shah realized influencing patient care was not limited to the examination room or hospitals; he could impact health care through policymaking as well.

Board Member Highlight: John G. Flores, MD - 02/27/2024

Little Elm internist John G. Flores, MD, was reelected vice speaker of the Texas Medical Association House of Delegates policymaking body in May 2023. The office of vice speaker is an ex-officio member of the TMA Board of Trustees.  

Board Member Highlight: Bradford W. Holland, MD - 02/27/2024

The Texas Medical Association reelected Waco otolaryngologist Bradford W. Holland, MD, speaker of the House of Delegates policymaking body in May 2023. The speaker is an ex-officio member of the TMA Board of Trustees.

Board Member Highlight: Tony R. Aventa, MD - 02/26/2024

Tony R. Aventa, MD, was elected to the TMA Board of Trustees in 2023.

Board Member Highlight: Samuel E. Mathis, MD - 02/24/2024

Samuel Mathis, MD, recognized the importance of getting involved in organized medicine as early as his medical student days. He has been a Texas Medical Association member for 13 years. In 2022, Dr. Mathis was elected to TMA’s Board of Trustees representing TMA’s Young Physician Section (TMA-YPS).  

Board Member Highlight: Gary W. Floyd, MD - 02/24/2024

Corpus Christi pediatrician Gary W. Floyd, MD, became TMA’s immediate past president in May 2023 while continuing to serve on the association’s Board of Trustees. He shifted to this role after serving one year as the association’s 157th president.

Board Member Highlight: Joseph Valenti, MD - 02/24/2024

Denton obstetrician-gynecologist Joseph S. Valenti, MD, began serving as vice chair of the TMA Board of Trustees in May 2023. He has served multiple terms on the association’s governing body after his reelection to the board in 2021.

Board Member Highlight: G. Ray Callas, MD - 02/23/2024

The Texas Medical Association elected Beaumont anesthesiologist G. Ray Callas, MD, president-elect in May 2023 during TexMed.

Board Member Highlight: G. Ray Callas, MD(1) - 02/23/2024

The Texas Medical Association elected Beaumont anesthesiologist G. Ray Callas, MD, president-elect in May 2023 during TexMed. Dr. Callas serves in this role for one year, after which he will be installed as president. He most recently chaired the TMA Board of Trustees, on which he has served since 2017.

TexMed 2024 Brings Exciting Speakers to All Attendees - 02/20/2024

Thanks to a new scheduling approach, attendees at TexMed 2024 will experience a more cohesive conference, bringing together members from all different stages in the path of organized medicine.

TMA Installs Dallas Cardiologist as 158th President - 02/14/2024

TMA on Saturday installed Richard W. “Rick” Snyder II, MD, a Dallas cardiologist, as its 158th president.