TMA Board Elects Beaumont, Houston, Austin Physician Leaders

May 4, 2022  

Callas Bourgeois Berger 3 pix collage 2022

The Texas Medical Association (TMA) Board of Trustees has elected 2022-23 officers to lead the board. Members of the TMA governing body elected Beaumont anesthesiologist G. Ray Callas, MD, as chair; Houston ophthalmologist Keith A. Bourgeois, MD, as vice chair; and Austin ophthalmologist Michelle A. Berger, MD, as secretary/treasurer. Each will serve a one-year term in office.

TMA board members elected the physicians Saturday during TexMed, TMA’s annual conference, in Houston.

Dr. Callas is the first Beaumont physician to chair the TMA board in its history. He has served on the board since 2017. He previously served as the board’s vice chair, and also has chaired both the TMA Council on Legislation and the TMA Council on Constitution and Bylaws. He serves on the board of directors of TEXPAC, TMA’s political action committee, and on the TEXPAC Candidate Evaluation Committee. He also has served as a delegate to the TMA House of Delegates since 2004 and on the Texas delegation to the American Medical Association (AMA) House of Delegates, AMA’s policymaking body. Dr. Callas also is a past president of the Texas Society of Anesthesiologists and the Jefferson County Medical Society, and is a member of its board of directors. 

Dr. Bourgeois is serving his third and final term on the TMA board. In addition to his board leadership, he is an ex-officio member of TMA’s House of Delegates. He chaired the Balance Billing Task Force, helping TMA develop policy positions that led to the legislature improving balance-billing laws in Texas. Dr. Bourgeois also chaired the board of directors of TEXPAC and served six years on TMA’s councils on Socioeconomics and Legislation. He also is a former president of the Harris County Medical Society and the Texas Ophthalmological Association. 

Besides her board membership and ongoing service as TMA secretary-treasurer, Dr. Berger has led at TMA in other ways throughout her 39 years of membership. She served on the TMA Council on Socioeconomics and as a delegate to both the TMA and the AMA House of Delegates. She also is a former president of the Texas Ophthalmological Association and the Travis County Medical Society.

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing more than 56,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.




 Contact: Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; cell: (512) 656-7320; email: brent[dot]annear[at]texmed[dot]org

 Swathi Narayanan (512) 370-1382; cell: (408) 987-1318; email: swathi[dot]narayanan[at]texmed[dot]org

Click here to follow TMA on Twitter.  Or visit TMA on Facebook.






Last Updated On

May 04, 2022

Originally Published On

May 04, 2022

Related Content