Texas Medical Students Honor Houston Physician

May 2, 2022

Texas medical students recognized Houston emergency physician Arlo F. Weltge, MD, with the 2022 C. Frank Webber, MD, Award, for his commitment to mentoring medical students. The Texas Medical Association Medical Student Section (TMA-MSS) presented the award to the physician during TexMed, TMA’s annual conference, in Houston.

“I am incredibly honored and flattered to receive this award, most importantly because it is coming from our newest members, the medical students,” Dr. Weltge said.

Dr. Weltge has been a mentor to the medical student chapter at the McGovern Medical School at UTHealth and to the TMA-MSS. He has schooled the TMA students about the resolution-writing process for proposing new policy, helped students attend First Tuesdays at the Capitol legislative lobbying days, and assisted the local chapter with grant applications.

“I stand in awe of the incredible talent and motivation of these students and the section, representing all Texas medical schools,” Dr. Weltge said.

Alyssa Greenwood Francis, vice chair of the TMA-MSS and a third-year medical student at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Paul L. Foster School of Medicine, nominated Dr. Weltge for the award. She praised his enthusiasm to help students.

“He provided thoughtful guidance on more than 30 medical student resolutions and encouraged us to defend our work in the [TMA House of Delegates],” she said. “Dr. Weltge is not only a champion of medical students, but he is also a champion of the entire MSS and is excited to work with us as the future of TMA.”

Dr. Weltge, a TMA member for 43 years, recently served as speaker of the TMA House of Delegates, the association’s policymaking body. Through the years, he has served in several other leadership roles within TMA and TEXPAC, TMA’s political action committee. Dr. Weltge also has mentored TMA Leadership College scholars – young physicians in the first eight years of their medical practice.

Dr. Weltge is an officer in the Harris County Medical Society’s delegation to TMA. He also served many years on the Texas Delegation to the American Medical Association.

Created in 1987, the C. Frank Webber, MD, Award is named after the late Texas family physician and educator C. Frank Webber, MD, former dean of The University of Texas Medical School at Houston (now the McGovern Medical School at UTHealth). Dr. Webber’s efforts prompted the development of the strong student organization within TMA.

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing nearly 56,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.


TMA Contacts:  Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; cell: (512) 656-7320; email: brent.annear@texmed.org

Swathi Narayanan (512) 370-1382; cell: (408) 987-1318; email: swathi.narayanan@texmed.org

Connect with TMA on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.



Last Updated On

May 02, 2022

Originally Published On

May 02, 2022

Related Content

Leadership | TexMed