Three Tyler Physicians Start New TMA Leadership Terms

July 8, 2021

Three Tyler physicians have begun new terms of service in Texas Medical Association (TMA) leadership positions.

TMA leaders elect or appoint TMA physicians and medical students to one of TMA’s 25 boards, councils, and committees. They are responsible for studying health care-related issues and making recommendations on important health care policy affecting Texas patients and their physicians.

Jeffrey L. Levin, MD, an occupational medicine specialist in practice for 34 years; reappointed as a consultant to the TMA Council on Science and Public Health.

James P. Michaels, MD, a physical medicine and rehabilitation specialist in practice for 25 years; reelected to TMA’s Council on Socioeconomics. 

Li-Yu H. Mitchell, MD, a family physician in practice for 20 years; reelected to TMA’s Council on Health Promotion.

These physicians are members of the Smith County Medical Society.

Read the descriptions and responsibilities of the TMA councils and committees.

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing more than 55,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.


Contact:  Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; cell: (512) 656-7320
Marcus Cooper (512) 370-1382; cell: (512) 650-5336

Connect with TMA on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Last Updated On

July 08, 2021

Originally Published On

July 08, 2021

Related Content