Texas Medical Students Honor Lubbock Physician, Texas Tech TMA Chapter

April 29, 2021

Lubbock dermatologist Ashley L. Sturgeon, MD, and the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Medicine (TTUHSC) were honored today by the Texas Medical Association  Medical Student Section (TMA-MSS). Dr. Sturgeon received the 2021 C. Frank Webber, MD, Award for her commitment to mentoring medical students, and TTUHSC received the 2020-21 TMA-MSS Chapter of the Year Award. The awards were presented during TexMed, TMA’s annual conference, held virtually

Ashley L. Sturgeon, MD – C. Frank Webber, MD, Award

Ashley Sturgeon MD

“It has been an honor to teach and guide students throughout my career, and I could not have been given a more meaningful award,” said Dr. Sturgeon. “I can only pray I may influence these students as my mentors – some of whom have won this award – influenced me.” 

 Dr. Sturgeon has cared for patients at Texas Tech Physicians of Lubbock Dermatology Clinic for seven years. She has been a TMA member for 15 years. She is immediate past president of the Lubbock County Medical Society (LCMS), and represents the society in TMA’s House of Delegates, the association’s policymaking body.    

 The TTUHSC TMA chapter nominated Dr. Sturgeon for the award. Chelsea Gerlicki, chapter president, praised the physician’s leadership during the early days of the COVID-19 pandemic, from promoting mask use to involving medical students on the front lines of COVID-19 care.

 Dr. Sturgeon started a local personal protective equipment (PPE) task force early in the pandemic, which later was managed through the state’s Regional Advisory Councils and TMA. TTUHSC medical student volunteers helped package more than 5 million pieces of PPE and distribute it to 22 West Texas counties through this effort.    
Dr. Sturgeon said watching the students’ efforts was amazing. “The students did all the work,” she said. “I am excited to see what our TTUHSC trailblazers do with their careers.”    

 Sarah Miller, TMA-MSS chair, commended Dr. Sturgeon for her guidance and mentoring of TTUHSC medical students. “Your leadership in public health safety through mask advocacy and the establishment of the PPE Task Force set an excellent example for medical students and other health professionals,” said Ms. Miller.

Dr. Sturgeon also included medical students in COVID-19 discussions with LCMS board members, a valuable learning experience because Lubbock was hit hard by COVID-19.

“Dr. Sturgeon led the society, the community, and the TMA medical student section through these trying times,” said Ms. Gerlicki. “She was a fantastic leader, who led by example.”

Dr. Sturgeon earned her medical degree and completed her residency at TTUHSC.   

Created in 1987, the C. Frank Webber, MD, Award is named after the late Texas family physician and educator C. Frank Webber, MD, former dean of The University of Texas Medical School at Houston. Dr. Webber’s efforts prompted the development of the strong student organization within TMA. 

TTUHSC – TMA-MSS Chapter of the Year Award


Ms. Gerlicki also nominated TTUHSC for its chapter award. Before the pandemic, the student chapter supported LCMS’ Turn it Off! Campaign to provide activities, such as scavenger hunts and book readings, to draw local children away from video screens.  

Ms. Miller said, “Texas Tech University School of Medicine did an outstanding job across the TMA pillars of advocacy, community service, and membership. The chapter had ongoing community efforts as well as impeccable adaptations to a COVID-19 world, demonstrating committed and proactive leadership.”  

 During the pandemic, medical students delivered letters and homemade cards to local nursing homes to ease residents’ isolation. The students also volunteered with the South Plains Immunization Network to help community members update routine vaccinations during the pandemic, including childhood vaccinations, and pneumonia and flu shots.   

The Chapter of the Year Award, established in 1998, is given annually to a chapter that exemplifies leadership, dedication, and service to TMA, the American Medical Association, and all Texans.

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing more than 55,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.


TMA Contacts:  Brent Annear  (512) 370-1381; cell: (512) 656-7320

 Marcus Cooper  (512) 370-1382; cell: (512) 650-5336

Connect with TMA on Twitter,  Facebook, and Instagram.

Check out MeAndMyDoctor.com for interesting and timely news on health care issues and policy.

Last Updated On

May 10, 2021

Originally Published On

April 29, 2021