• Medical Student Section

    • What is the Medical Student Section?

      TMA created the Medical Student Section (MSS) in the late 1970s to gain a student perspective among members and provide future physicians with a voice in TMA policy. This organized membership section helps focus attention on issues unique to Texas' students and provides a forum for students to communicate with each other.

      Now over 4,800 members strong, the TMA-MSS section helps shape the future of medicine as members participate in the TMA and American Medical Association policy-making process and serve in slotted seats on boards, councils, and committees. In addition to the 63 slotted positions, the MSS also has a voting representative on the TMA Board of Trustees. TMA student members also are actively involved in their local county medical societies.

  • Medical Student Section News and Information

    • TMA-MSS Leadership

      The Texas Medical Association Medical Student Section (TMA-MSS) Executive Council (EC) is elected annually to direct the activities of the section at the state level. Congratulations to the 2015-2016 TMA-MSS EC.  

    • Save the Date

      Save the date for the AMA Interim National Medical Student Meeting, Nov. 12-14 in Atlanta.

      TMA's Winter Conference will be held Jan. 29-30 in Austin. The TMA-MSS Business meeting is scheduled for Saturday, Jan. 30 at 12:30 pm. Conference attendance is free for all TMA members.


    • Award Nominations

      Submit your nomination for Chapter of the Year, Student of the Year, and C. Frank Webber, MD awards. Nominations are due by Jan. 20.
    • TMA-MSS Elections

      Two MSS elections will be held during the TMA's Winter Conference. To apply for either Student Member of the TMA Board of Trustees, or Alternate Delegate, Texas Delegation to the AMA, submit a letter of intent and CV to the Student Coordinator by Jan. 20.
  • Section Resources

  • Section Awards

    • The TMA Medical Student Section awards three section awards annually in conjunction with our Annual Meeting.

      The TMA Medical Student Section awards three section awards annually in conjunction with TMA's Annual Meeting.

      Chapter of the Year - The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston;

      Student of the Year - Kayla Riggs, UT Houston; and 

      C. Frank Webber, MD Award - Russell W. H. Kridel, MD, Houston.  

      Applications for the 2016 awards will be accepted starting in October 2015.



  • Medical Students Educational Courses