Know Outstanding Science Teachers? Nominate Them for a TMA Award

Throughout this school year, plenty of great science teachers have been educating the next generation of physicians.

If you know an outstanding educator, nominate him or her for the Texas Medical Association’s Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching.

The award was created in 1990 to honor elementary, middle, and high school teachers who share their energy and enthusiasm for science through creative and innovative methods to cultivate student interest in medicine and science.

The awards are open to full-time public and private school teachers who have been teaching in classrooms for at least two years and are teaching during the 2021-22 school year.

Nominations are being accepted through Dec. 4.

Up for grabs is $62,000:

  • One Texas science teacher will receive the Grand Prize of $20,000 and a $5,000 resource grant for his or her school science curriculum.
  • Three Distinguished winners will each receive $7,000 and another $3,000 for their schools.
  • One Rookie award of $5,000 plus $2,000 for the school will go to a teacher who has taught for less than seven years.

Award winners will be announced to TMA’s membership in May 2021.

“This award is significant not only financially but also emotionally, as it has strengthened my belief in myself,” said the 2020 overall winner, Adam Unlu, who teaches 11th-and 12th-grade physics at Harmony School of Excellence in Laredo. “Thank you so much for helping a teacher like me to achieve my dreams.”

The awards are made possible with a grant from the TMA Foundation, which is supported through an endowment generously established by Dr. and Mrs. Ernest C. Butler and gifts from physicians and their families. To make a tax-deductible donation to the TMA Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching Program, visit the TMA Foundation.


Last Updated On

November 23, 2020

Originally Published On

October 08, 2020