Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching

  • What's at Stake in 2020?

    $51,500 for outstanding Texas science teachers!

    • Three first-place Texas science teachers will each receive $6,000, a $2,000 resource grant for their school science curriculum.
    • Second-place winners each receive $4,000 and another $1,000 for their schools.
    • Rookie awards of $1,500 plus $1,000 for their schools are made to teachers who have taught for less than five years.
    • And an overall award! TMA will award one first-place winner with an additional $5,000 teacher award - to be announced in May 2020.


    Visit Our Facebook Page  
  • Celebrate Great Science Teachers

    Alt Tag  

    TMA is no longer accepting nominations for the 2020 Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching. Who's eligible? 

    • Texas full-time public and private school science teachers with a minimum or two years' completed classroom experience.
    • Teachers must be returning to teach in a Texas classroom during the 2020-21 school year. 
    • All areas of science are welcome.

    Check back to send us your nominees for outstanding science teachers or self-nominate this summer.

    Are you a science teacher? We want to hear from you. Please take this short survey, click here.

    Nominate Today!  
  • TMA Honors Excellence in Science Teaching

    Alt Tag  

    TMA continues to receive an outstanding number of nominations and applications for this distinguished award program. The Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching receives more than 300 nominations and 150 applications annually.

    The 2020 program is closed. 

    (NOTE: Nominations will be accepted Summer 2020)


    About the Award 
  • Recognizing Excellence

    Alt Tag  

    These awards were created in 1990 to honor elementary, middle, and high school teachers who share their energy and enthusiasm for science through creative and innovative methods to cultivate student interest in medicine and science.

    2019 First-Place Recipients pictured left to right: Richard Embrick, Kaneice Washington, Sarah Butler, Dr. Ernest Butler, and Andrew Brinker.

    Meet Our Winners  
  • What could a TMA membership mean for you, your practice, and your patients?