50-Year Club Formation

The Board of Trustees of the Texas Medical Association approved the formation of a 50-Year Club in November 1984.

Candidates for membership are Texas physicians who have graduated from medical school 50 or more years past.  Each year, qualifying physicians are invited to become members of this strictly volunteer social club. To join contact Chris Johnson at (800)880-1300, ext.1602 or email 50-Year Club.

 A portion of the dues collected are earmarked for educational pursuits. From 1986 through 1996, a contribution was made to TMA's Medical Student Loan Fund. Beginning in 1997, a contribution was made each year to the Young Physicians Section Rural Scholarship Fund. In 1998, the 50-Year Club received the Young at Heart Award, presented by the Young Physician Section (YPS).  As of September 2004, the club voted to redirect the contribution to establish the TMA 50-Year Club Scholarship to award a medical student with outstanding academic progress. Thanks to financial support from the 50-Year Club, the YPS was able to increase from one to three scholarships awarded.


Although there are no officers for this Club, past presidents are recognized.

Past Presidents