TMA Honors Excellence in Science Teaching

Each year, TMA's Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching recognizes and rewards schoolteachers at the elementary, middle, and high school levels. These teachers share their energy and enthusiasm for science with their students every day; thereby sparking students' interest in science.  Who knows how many students go on to pursue a career in medicine.  Watch the video below to see how two physicians were inspired by one of our winners.


All Texas full-time public and private school science teachers with a minimum of two years of completed classroom experience who will return to teach the following school year are eligible. Teachers specializing in all areas of science are eligible.


  • Educational History and Professional Development
  • Letters of Support (two required plus one optional)
  • Professional Essay
  • Portfolio 


Deadlines for the 2021 program are Dec. 4, 2020 for nominations and Jan. 4, 2021 for applications. All nominees will receive an email with application information and links to upload their required supporting materials.  

See application details HERE.


For more information about the award and application process, please contact Science Teacher Award or call (512) 370-1300, ext. 1607 or 1608.  


Help TMA ensure Texas science teachers are well-represented. If you'd like to provide financial support for the Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching, visit the TMA Foundation donor page.


Ernest and Sarah Butler Award for Excellence in Science Teaching main page

Last Updated On

May 12, 2020