• Subcommittee for Academic Physicians

    • TMA Embraces Academia

      The Subcommittee for Academic Physicians reports to the TMA Council on Medical Education and was created to improve TMA’s representation of physicians involved in academic medicine. Unlike standing TMA councils and committees which are appointed by the sitting TMA president-elect, the subcommittee is composed of representatives of health-related institutions through appointments by the leadership of each institution.

      Photo: Carlos Vallbona, MD; Lisa R. Nash, DO, chair; and William J. Krippner, Jr., MD; Back row: Ronald S. Walters, MD; Kaparaboyna Ashok Kumar, MD, FRCS; and Jeffrey L. Levin, MD. Subcommittee members not pictured: Syed S. Azhar, MD; Carlos Hamilton, Jr., MD; Curtis R. Mirkes, DO; and Surendra Varma, MD

  • TMA Award for Excellence in Academic Medicine

    • TMA Award for Excellence in Academic Medicine
      The Texas Medical Association is pleased to announce our first ever-award program, developed by the Subcommittee for Academic Physicians, to recognize clinical faculty for excellence in academic medicine. This award gives credit to physicians involved in academic medicine who have a recent record of TMA leadership, scholarly activity, mentoring, professional development, advocacy, and community service. We invite our academic leaders to review the eligibility criteria and consider applying during our next application cycle, to open this fall.
  • Patient Safety and Medical Errors CME Course

    • Earn CME

      An area of paramount interest to the subcommittee is the need for improvements in patient safety. This level of concern led to the subcommittee’s development of a training course on patient safety for medical students, resident physicians, as well as practicing physicians and other health professionals.

      The course is available without charge or for a nominal fee for practicing physicians who wish to take the course for the purposes of earning CME credits.

  • Curriculum Toolbox in Leadership, Advocacy and Health Policy

  • Making Teaching Portfolios Work for You

  • Policy Statement on Clinical Faculty Compensation Models

    • Essential Elements of Successful Clinical Faculty Compensation Models
      In response to changes in the U.S. health care industry, most of the nation’s medical schools are modifying their business practices. One aspect of these changes is how clinical faculty members are paid. The subcommittee developed this policy statement in 2002, and reviewed and revised the statement in 2014, to lay out elements of a successful clinical faculty compensation model.
  • Assessing the Impact of Electronic Medical Records on Medical Education

    • What Research Studies Say about Potential Benefits or Negative Effects of EMRs on Medical Education
      As electronic medical record (EMR) systems have increasingly become the standard at academic health centers at the same time that federal privacy laws have placed greater restrictions on access to patient records, subcommittee members witnessed diminished opportunities for medical students to participate in medical documentation. By denying students the authorization to record information in patient medical records, or in some cases even preventing students from reviewing electronic medical records, it then becomes necessary to postpone this critically important aspect of medical education until postgraduate training. Out of concern for the potential negative effects of such a delay on the overall medical education experience, the subcommittee sought to conduct research on EMR policies at accredited medical schools in the U.S.
  • Additional Resources

    It's Academic is TMA’s monthly e-newsletter for news of interest for academic physicians.

    TMA’s Texas Physician Workforce Twitter Page 

    The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education is a private, not-for-profit council that evaluates and accredits allopathic residency programs in the U.S.

    The American Board of Medical Specialties, a not-for-profit organization, assists 24 approved medical specialty boards in the development and use of standards in the ongoing evaluation and certification of physicians.

    The American Osteopathic Association serves as the primary certifying body for DOs, and is the accrediting agency for all osteopathic medical schools and has federal authority to accredit osteopathic residency programs at hospitals and other health care facilities.

    The Association of American Medical Colleges is a not-for-profit association representing LCME accredited U.S. and Canadian medical schools, and major teaching hospitals and health systems.

    The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board provides coordination for the Texas higher education system, including health-related institutions.

    The Texas Medical Board is the state agency charged with the licensure and regulation of Texas physicians.

    The Texas Medical & Dental Schools Application Service is the centralized application processing service for applicants to the first-year entering classes at all of the public medical, dental and veterinary schools in the state of Texas. Baylor College of Medicine does not participate in this program.