New Physician Leaders Elected to Top TMA Offices
By Brent Annear

Atop a long list of physicians elected to Texas Medical Association leadership positions, the TMA House of Delegates at TexMed 2022 elected Dallas cardiologist Richard W. “Rick” Snyder II, MD, as the association’s next president after Keller pediatrician Gary W. Floyd, MD, completes his 2022 term.

Dr. Snyder will serve in the role of president-elect for one year before assuming the presidency of America’s largest state medical society in 2023. The elections happened April 30 at the house’s business session.

“[I am] simultaneously humbled, awed, and excited,” Dr. Snyder told the house. “I feel humbled to follow in the footsteps of the giants of Texas organized medicine and awed by the responsibility of helping lead the largest and finest state medical association in the land. Most importantly, I am excited by the prospect of representing an organization of 56,000 physicians whose dedication and commitment to boldly advocate to improve the health of all Texans is second to none.”

Beaumont anesthesiologist G. Ray Callas, MD, was voted in to succeed Dr. Snyder as chair of TMA’s Board of Trustees, and Keith A. Bourgeois, MD, a Houston ophthalmologist, will serve as vice chair. Physicians also reelected Lubbock internist and pulmonary disease specialist Cynthia Jumper, MD, to the board and elected several new members: 

  • John T. Carlo, MD, is a Dallas public health and general preventive medicine specialist.
  • Bradford S. Patt, MD, is a Houston otolaryngologist and facial plastic and reconstructive surgeon.
  • Galveston family physician Samuel E. Mathis, MD, will represent TMA’s Young Physician Section.
  • Alixandria Pfeiffer, DO, a resident in obstetrics and gynecology at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, is the board’s new Resident and Fellow Section representative.
  • Abhishek Dharan, a student at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Paul L. Foster School of Medicine, will represent the TMA Medical Student Section.

Waco otolaryngologist Bradford W. Holland, MD; Little Elm internist John G. Flores, MD; and Austin ophthalmologist Michelle A. Berger, MD, will continue in their board roles as speaker, vice speaker, and secretary, respectively. 

Drs. Berger, Callas, Flores, and Jumper were all reelected to positions on the Texas Delegation to the American Medical Association House of Delegates. TMA house members also elected or reelected several other delegates and alternates to represent Texas physicians in the AMA house

  • Shanna M. Combs, MD, Fort Worth obstetrician-gynecologist;
  • William H. Fleming III, MD, Houston neurologist;
  • Gregory M. Fuller, MD, Keller family physician;
  • Kenneth L. Mattox, MD, Houston thoracic and trauma surgeon;
  • Kevin H. McKinney, MD, Galveston endocrinologist;
  • Eddie L. Patton Jr., MD, Houston neurologist;
  • Vivek U. Rao, MD, Odessa allergist and immunologist;
  • Leslie H. Secrest, MD, Dallas psychiatrist;
  • Elizabeth Torres, MD, Sugar Land internist;
  • Roxanne M. Tyroch, MD, El Paso internist;
  • E. Linda Villarreal, MD, Edinburg internist; and
  • Yasser F. Zeid, MD, Tyler obstetrician-gynecologist.

Last Updated On

May 03, 2022

Originally Published On

May 02, 2022

Related Content

Leadership | TexMed

Brent Annear

Director, Media and Public Relations 

(512) 370-1381


 Brent headshot

Brent Annear is TMA’s director of media relations and PR. He joined TMA in 2001 after working two decades in television news. Brent and his team share TMA’s mission and vision with the world through news releases, blog and social media posts, and videos. He is a University of Texas graduate who hails from Minnesota. Brent is married and has two stepsons. He enjoys photography, golf, travel, volunteering and woodworking projects, and he is a private pilot. 

More stories by Brent Annear