A 2007 state law requires that all cause-of-death information and medical certifications to the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) be submitted electronically through the state's online death registration system, the Texas Electronic Registrar .
The electronic death registration law established this timeline:
- The funeral director or other person accepting responsibility for the disposition of the body must file a Report of Death with the local registrar within 24 hours of taking custody of a body.
- The medical certifier must complete the medical certification no later than five days after being designated the medical certifier or provide notification to the funeral director or other person accepting responsibility for the disposition of the body, explaining the reason for the delay.
- Death certificates must be filed within 10 days from the date of death.
Physicians may register to use the system and obtain their PIN online. In addition, free training is available online.
For more information, e-mail Albert Rivera at DSHS.
Action , March 15, 2010
Last Updated On
September 22, 2010