Three Austin Physicians Selected for TMA Ethics, AMA Leadership Roles

May 31, 2023  

Three Austin physicians have secured key Texas Medical Association (TMA) leadership positions. The TMA House of Delegates, the organization’s policymaking body, placed the physicians during TexMed, TMA’s annual conference, held at Fort Worth this year.

Scott Clitheroe, MD, an internist for 28 years, was confirmed as a vice councilor on the TMA Board of Councilors, the organization’s ethics body.

Kimberly Avila Edwards, MD, a pediatrician in practice for 21 years, and Robert Emmick Jr., MD, an emergency physician in practice for 28 years, were reelected as American Medical Association alternate delegates. In this role they will advocate for Texas doctors and patients on the national level.

The physicians are members of the Travis County Medical Society

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing more than 57,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.


Contact: Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; cell: (512) 656-7320; email: brent[dot]annear[at]texmed[dot]org

Swathi Narayanan (512) 370-1382; cell: (408) 987-1318; email: swathi[dot]narayanan[at]texmed[dot]org

Click here to follow TMA on Twitter.  Or visit TMA on Facebook.





Last Updated On

May 31, 2023

Originally Published On

May 31, 2023

Related Content