Midland-Odessa Physicians Assume TMA Leadership Positions

April 30, 2022

The Texas Medical Association (TMA) has selected two Midland-Odessa physicians for leadership roles. The TMA House of Delegates conducted elections Saturday during TexMed, TMA’s annual conference, held in Houston this year.

John W. Foster Jr., MD, a Midland neurologist in practice for 39 years, was confirmed to serve as a vice councilor on the TMA Board of Councilors, the organization’s ethical policymaking body. Dr. Foster is a member of the Midland County Medical Society.

Vivek U. Rao, MD, an Odessa allergist and immunologist in practice for 19 years, was elected to represent Texas physicians as an alternate delegate in the American Medical Association House of Delegates, the national organization’s policymaking body. Dr. Rao also continues to serve as a councilor on the TMA Board of Councilors. He is a member of the Ector County Medical Society.

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing more than 56,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.


Contact:  Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; cell: (512) 656-7320

Swathi Narayanan (512) 370-1382; cell: (408) 987-1318

Connect with TMA on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Last Updated On

May 02, 2022

Originally Published On

May 02, 2022

Related Content

Leadership | TexMed