Texas Residents and Students Win AMA Leadership Posts

Several Texas residents and students nabbed American Medical Association leadership positions this past weekend during the AMA’s special interim meeting, which is being held virtually this year because of the COVID-19 pandemic.


For the AMA Resident and Fellow Section (Pictured left to right above):

  • Theresa Phan, MD, of Austin, was re-elected as the section’s speaker;
  • Jerome Jeevarajan, MD, of Houston, was elected as the section’s delegate in the AMA House of Delegates; and
  • Michael Metzner, MD, of San Antonio, was elected as alternate delegate.


For Region 3 of the AMA Medical Student Section, which represents Texas, Oklahoma, Kansas, Arkansas, Louisiana, and Mississippi. (Pictured left to right above):

  • Elected as regional delegates to the AMA House:
    • Chris Wong, a third-year student at Baylor College of Medicine;
    • Swetha Maddipudi, a third-year student at UT Health San Antonio Long School of Medicine;
    • Abhaishek Dharan, a third-year student at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Paul L. Foster School of Medicine; and
    • Whitney Stuard, who is in the medical scientist training program at UT Southwestern Medical School.
  • Elected as regional alternate delegates:
    • Brittany Ikwuagwu, a third-year student at McGovern Medical School at UTHealth; and
    • Alyssa Greenwood Francis, a second-year student at the Foster School of Medicine.

Last Updated On

November 10, 2020