Texas Medical Students Honor Lubbock Physician

 October 4, 2020

 New Dr. Jumper Portrait 

Texas medical students recognized Lubbock pulmonologist Cynthia A. Jumper, MD, with the 2020 C. Frank Webber, MD, Award, for her commitment to mentoring medical students. The Texas Medical Association (TMA) Medical Student Section announced the award during TMA’s House of Delegates meeting, held virtually earlier this month.

“Our students are our future; however, they are also our ‘today,’” said Dr. Jumper. “I am humbled that they chose me and I will continue to strive to earn their respect.”

Dr. Jumper serves as vice president of health care policy and special health initiatives at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center-Lubbock (TTUHSC) and is a former chair of internal medicine there. She is also an adjunct professor at Texas Tech University School of Law.

TTUHSC medical student Patrick Bettiol, one of the students to nominate Dr. Jumper for the award, praised her for encouraging student advocacy on important issues in medicine.

“Last year, when I was authoring my first resolutions for the [American Medical Association, or AMA] and TMA, Dr. Jumper provided individual guidance and feedback from the perspective of a trustee at the TMA level and member of the [AMA] Council on Medical Education,” Mr. Bettiol said. “Overall, Dr. Jumper has been the person I have tried to emulate in the context of her service to patients and the Texas Medical Association.”

As a community caregiver and health care educator, Dr. Jumper supervises medical students at local flu clinics and health fairs, volunteers at Lubbock-area medical clinics serving homeless patients, and even participates in global health care electives in Nicaragua.

As a professor and mentor to future physicians, Dr. Jumper says her students give her new perspectives on the role of medicine, especially during the pandemic. “Watching our medical students print 3D face-shields, take care of faculty children, and deliver groceries and [personal protective equipment] – all while attending medical school – has been a joy to see and brings a smile to my heart,” said Dr Jumper.

Dr. Jumper is active in TMA and the Lubbock County Medical Society. As. Mr. Bettiol alluded, she is a member of the TMA Board of Trustees. She also is a Texas alternate delegate to the AMA House of Delegates policymaking body, and the AMA Council on Medical Education. Since becoming a member of TMA as a student in 1984, Dr. Jumper has served on several TMA councils and committees. She is a former chair of the TMA Council on Medical Education and was a member of the association’s Council on Legislation and Council on Socioeconomics. Dr. Jumper also is an executive board member of TEXPAC, TMA’s political action committee.  

Created in 1987, the C. Frank Webber, MD, Award is named after the late Texas family physician and educator C. Frank Webber, MD, former dean of McGovern Medical School at UTHealth in Houston. Dr. Webber’s efforts prompted the development of the strong student organization within TMA.

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing more than 53,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.


 Contact:   Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; cell: (512) 656-7320

 Marcus Cooper (512) 370-1382; cell: (512) 650-5336

Connect with TMA on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Last Updated On

October 06, 2020

Originally Published On

October 05, 2020

Related Content

Leadership | Women in medicine