Lubbock Physicians, Medical Student Take TMA Leadership Positions

September 12, 2020

Eight Lubbock physicians and one medical student have begun terms of service in Texas Medical Association (TMA) leadership positions, while caring for patients and managing medicine’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

TMA’s House of Delegates policymaking body met virtually on Saturday to ratify the last of this year’s TMA elections and appointments. The pandemic forced TMA to alter its governance and meeting processes. Physician leaders have used virtual meetings and special governance provisions this year to elect or appoint physicians and medical students to one or more of TMA’s 25 boards, councils, and committees. The physicians are responsible for studying health care-related issues and making recommendations on important health care policy affecting Texas patients and their physicians.

All the physicians and the student are members of the Lubbock County Medical Society.


Eman N. Attaya, MD, radiologist in practice for 12 years; reelected to TMA’s Council on Health Promotion.

Ann C. Hughes Bass, MD, family physician in practice for one year; reelected to TMA’s Council on Health Care Quality.

Patrick J. Bettiol, medical student at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; elected as an alternate delegate to represent the TMA Medical Student Section on the Texas Delegation to the AMA House of Delegates.

Ronald Lynn Cook, DO, family and geriatric physician in practice for 23 years; appointed as a consultant to TMA’s Council on Medical Education.

Juan Francisco Fitz, MD
, emergency physician in practice for 31 years; elected to TMA’s Council on Constitution and Bylaws.

Cynthia Jumper, MD, internist in practice for 33 years; elected delegate to the Texas Delegation of the AMA House of Delegates.

Dixon Santana-Aponte, MD, general and vascular surgeon in practice for 16 years; appointed to TMA’s Committee on Membership.

Gerad A. Troutman, MD, emergency physician in practice for 10 years; elected to TMA’s Council on Legislation.

Davor Vugrin, MD, hematologist/oncologist and internist in practice for 48 years; reappointed as consultant to TMA’s Committee on Cancer.

Read the descriptions and charges of each TMA Board, Council, and Committee, and of the Texas Delegation to the AMA.

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing more than 53,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.


Contact:  Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; cell: (512) 656-7320

Marcus Cooper (512) 370-1382; cell: (512) 650-5336

Connect with TMA on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Last Updated On

September 12, 2020

Related Content