TMA Foundation Announces 2018 Gala Chairs

Red clown noses. Flappers. Spacesuits. Spies. Best Lawn Legs. Cowboys. Heads. Tails. Masquerade.

What do all these things have in common? Twenty-five years of fun and funds raised through TMA Foundation’s annual gala to create a Healthy Now and a Healthier Future for all Texans.

TMA Foundation will welcome more than 500 physicians, and community and business leaders from across Texas to its 25th Anniversary Gala at the JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort and Spa. The gala will be held from 6:30 to 10:30 pm on Friday, May 18, and will feature a cocktail reception, seated dinner and auctions with unforgettable items. The event, which is part of TMA’s Annual Meeting (TexMed), also features dancing and live music by the Matchmaker Band of Austin. Dress is cocktail attire.

“We cordially invite one and all to join us in celebration at the TMAF 25th Anniversary Gala,” said Les H. Secrest, MD, TMAF president. “The success of the annual gala would not be possible without the help of host-city event chairs. We are pleased to announce Sheldon Gross, MD, and his wife Georgiana and Jayesh Shah, MD, and his wife Neha have committed to serve as our 2018 Gala Chairs. Many thanks for their service.”

Jayesh Shah, MD, practices hyperbaric medicine and wound care in San Antonio with his wife, Neha Shah, MPT, the physical therapist at South Texas Wound Associates, which they founded in 2000. Dr. Shah is affiliated with Northeast Baptist Wound Healing Center and is a current TMA delegate to the AMA and is a past president of Bexar County Medical Society.

Sheldon Gross, MD, is a pediatric neurologist in San Antonio and is affiliated with Methodist Children’s Hospital and University Hospital. Dr. Gross is the current Bexar CMS president and has served as vice-chair of TEXPAC and the AMA delegation. His wife, Georgiana Gross, RD, is a clinical instructor of nutrition at UT Health San Antonio School of Dentistry and has served as a vice-chair of TEXPAC.

“Also as part of the festivities, TMAF will honor all past gala chairpersons who have given their time, talents and treasure to continue and expand TMA’s charitable programs through the annual fundraising gala. We thank each of them for their generosity.” Dr. Les Secrest added.

All gala chairs over the past 25 years have been named Honorary Chairs and will be recognized during the TMAF 25th Anniversary Gala. Sponsorships, tables, or individual tickets are available now.

 2018 Gala Chairs

Last Updated On

December 21, 2017

Originally Published On

December 21, 2017