Medical licensure in Texas is governed by the Texas Medical Board. Individuals eligible for licensure must successfully complete an accredited graduate medical degree program, obtain board certification, and have no restrictions on their license and prescribing authority.
Physicians must have an active, pending application for licensure and receive a scheduling permit from the Texas Medical Board before being eligible to sit for the Texas Medical Jurisprudence Exam. Applicants must earn a score of 75 or better on the exam within the first three attempts.
Check Your Exam Eligibility
HIPAA mandated the adoption of National Provider Identifiers (NPIs) for physicians, providers, and health plans. An NPI is required for physician licensure in Texas. To apply for an NPI, log onto the National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES) created by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.
To maintain an active Texas medical license, physicians must renew their license with the Texas Medical Board every two years. To be eligible for renewal, a physician must complete 48 hours of CME every 24 months, including two hours of ethics CME. Use TMA's summary of CME reporting activities to maintain and renew your license.
To raise awareness of and help curb human trafficking in Texas, the state legislature requiries direct patient care physicians who renew their medical license after Sept. 1, 2020, to take one hour of CME that addresses human trafficking.
TMB Rules Summary
Got Texas Medical License questions? Call or email the Knowledge Center.
Texas Department of Insurance