Nominate a Local Journalist

Members of the TMA family can nominate local journalists for the TMA Anson Jones, MD, Awards, which recognize excellence in health journalism in Texas. So if you read, see, or hear a great health-related story, let us know.

Nominating a local journalist is a great way to enhance your relationship with your local media and encourage continued health news coverage. For more than 60 years, TMA has honored award-winning Texas journalists with the Anson Jones, MD, Awards.

Who Can Nominate Journalists

  • TMA physician members
  • Medical students
  • County medical societies
  • TMA Alliance members

Local journalists also can submit their work for the awards.

What Can Be Nominated

Any news published or broadcast in 2019 is eligible. The Anson Jones competition recognizes print, broadcast (television and radio), and online media in nine different categories. In addition, TMA names a Texas Health Journalist of the Year. Physician and medical student reporters also are recognized with the Physician Excellence in Reporting category. So be sure to nominate your colleagues’ outstanding journalism, too.

How to Nominate a Journalist  

  1. Read, hear, or see a great health news story. Act today and nominate it for an Anson Jones award.
  2. Email your nomination to ansonjones[at]texmed[dot]org. All TMA needs is the reporter’s name, name of article (if available), date of broadcast/publication, and the media outlet. Include a URL if you have that.
  3. TMA will send the reporter a special postcard with a hand-written note. We’ll let the reporter know you nominated him or her and for which story/broadcast. The postcard (PDF) encourages reporters to go to the Anson Jones webpage to complete the nomination.
  4. Repeat throughout 2019. There is no limit to the number of stories you can nominate this year. The official entry deadline is Jan. 10, 2020.


Call Tammy Wishard, TMA Outreach Coordinator, at (800) 880-1300 ext. 1470, or (512) 370-1470. Or email ansonjones[at]texmed[dot]org

TMA Anson Jones, MD, Awards main page

Last Updated On

January 22, 2019

Related Content

Anson Jones, MD, Awards