TMA Honors Outstanding Physicians, Medical Students, with 2024 Awards

May 7, 2024 

The Texas Medical Association (TMA) is honoring outstanding physicians and medical students across the state with awards for their contributions to their community and organized medicine. TMA recognized the honorees during TexMed, the association’s annual conference, held in Dallas this year.

Each year, members of TMA’s various sections – young physicians, residents and fellows, international medical graduates, and medical students – recognize individuals in their unique areas. The awards celebrate outstanding mentorship and civic involvement.

This year’s honorees (listed alphabetically by city): 

Dallas internist Subhan Tabba, MD, was selected for the TMA Resident and Fellow Section’s Member of the Year Award. He is the first recipient of this award. “My journey into medicine was founded in a commitment to advocate for patients' well-being. Along this path, the complexities of our practice and patient care landscape led me to embrace organized medicine to champion a more robust health care system,” said Dr. Tabba. He just concluded his term of service on TMA’s Board of Trustees, and he is a member of the Dallas County Medical Society.

Eagle Pass family and sleep medicine physician Hector Trevino, MD, won the International Medical Graduate Outstanding Physician Award for service to his community. During the height of the COVID-19 pandemic, he volunteered on the Maverick County public emergency team. Dr. Trevino said he is grateful to win the award, adding, “This award is not just a personal achievement, but an acknowledgment to all physicians who may be working to make a difference in their respective fields.” Dr. Trevino is a member of the Maverick County Medical Society.

The TMA Medical Student Section (TMA-MSS) selected Fort Worth medical student Fariya Fatima as the recipient of the section’s 2024 Student of the Year Award. The nominators said the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine student helped host and promote resolution-writing workshops and served as an “outstanding mentor,” who recruited, mentored, and engaged other students. “I was stunned and had to reread the announcement,” said Ms. Fatima. “I am truly honored and grateful to have this opportunity to work alongside my peers and physician mentors to serve patients and communities throughout Texas.”

The TMA-MSS selected Texas Christian University Anne Burnett Marion School of Medicine in Fort Worth as the 2024 Chapter of the Year among all Texas medical schools. The section recognized the medical school’s outstanding community service, advocacy, and membership efforts. We are extremely honored to be selected, especially as a newer medical school in the state. It is testament to all the hard work we have put into establishing our chapter,” said Sereena Jivraj, the chapter’s immediate past-president. “Our goal has always been to grow closer to our community and to give back, so we're hoping this is just the beginning of that,” added current president Paul Murdock.

The TMA-MSS also selected Galveston family physician Samuel E. Mathis, MD, as winner of the section’s 2024 C. Frank Webber, MD, Award, recognizing a Texas physician for outstanding service to the section and its members. “I am humbled to be chosen by the Medical Student Section for this prestigious award, and I definitely did NOT tear up when informed that I was chosen,” said Dr. Mathis. “One of the best things we can do as an association is to invest in our students.”

Lubbock family and adolescent medicine physician, Kelly Bennett, MD, won the Young Physician Section Young at Heart Award for encouraging young physicians to participate in leadership opportunities. On hearing about this recognition, Dr. Bennett said, “I’m very honored to be given this award; being a teaching physician is the best job you could ever have. I’ve been blessed to have some of the best learners of all time and love helping them find solutions to patient issues.” She chairs TMA’s LGBTQ section and is a member of the Lubbock County Medical Society.

TMA’s Resident and Fellow Section awarded Temple internist Austin Metting, MD, the J.T. “Lamar” McNew Award for his service to residents and fellows (physicians in training). Dr. Metting said, “I am very honored to receive this award, as I have spent all my career since residency involved in the education of residents and students. I could not see myself practicing without teaching.” Dr. Metting is president of the Bell County Medical Society.

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing more than 57,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans. 


TMA contacts:

Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; cell: (512) 656-7320

Swathi Narayanan  (512) 370-1382; cell: (408) 987-1318

Connect with TMA on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram


Last Updated On

May 21, 2024

Originally Published On

May 07, 2024

Related Content