Board Member Highlight: G. Ray Callas, MD

G_Ray_CallasMD_250Name: G. Ray Callas, MD  

Specialty: Anesthesiologist 

City: Beaumont 

County Medical Society: Jefferson CMS

The Texas Medical Association elected Beaumont anesthesiologist G. Ray Callas, MD, president-elect in May 2023 during TexMed. Dr. Callas serves in this role for one year, after which he will be installed as president. He most recently chaired the TMA Board of Trustees, on which he has served since 2017.

His path that will lead him to TMA’s top office is like those of many predecessors: He has served in numerous TMA leadership positions in addition to chairing the board, including stints on the Council on Legislation and the Council on Constitution and Bylaws. Dr. Callas also serves on the TEXPAC Board of Directors and its Candidate Evaluation Committee. He also is a graduate of the inaugural class of the TMA Leadership College, a program to develop strong physician leaders. Dr. Callas also has served as a delegate to the TMA House of Delegates since 2004, and he is a member of the Texas Delegation to American Medical Association. He first joined TMA in 1996 while attending medical school.

He is a believer in the power of organized medicine.

“Lending my voice, time, and effort to assist not just my practice and patients, but all physicians of Texas, I have seen the effectiveness of the Texas Medical Association,” he said.

Dr. Callas frequently visits Texas government officials and lawmakers to advocate for medicine and patient care, and he has testified in countless legislative hearings.

Dr. Callas also is a past chair of the Texas Medical Liability Trust Board of Governors and is a past president of the Jefferson County Medical Society and a member of its Board of Censors.

He also presided over the Texas Society of Anesthesiologists.

Dr. Callas has practiced with Anesthesia Associates since 2004 and is president of its board of directors. He serves multiple hospitals and surgical center facilities in Jefferson County and Beaumont.

Last Updated On

February 23, 2024

Originally Published On

October 30, 2023

Related Content