Six Lubbock Physicians Start New Terms in TMA Leadership Positions

July 8, 2021

Six Lubbock physicians have begun new terms of service in Texas Medical Association (TMA) leadership positions.

TMA leaders elect or appoint TMA physicians and medical students to one of TMA’s 25 boards, councils, and committees. They are responsible for studying health care-related issues and making recommendations on important health care policy affecting Texas patients and their physicians.

All of these physicians are members of the Lubbock County Medical Society.

Ronald L. Cook, DO, a family physician in practice for 24 years; reappointed as a consultant to the TMA Council on Medical Education.

Sandra D. Dickerson, MD, a general surgeon in practice for 33 years; appointed to TMA’s Committee on Physician Distribution and Health Care Access. 

Neha Gupta Mittal, MD, an internist in practice for 17 years; elected to TMA’s Council on Medical Education.

Michelle B. Tarbox, MD, a dermatologist in practice for eight years; reelected to TMA’s Council on Legislation. 

Davor Vugrin, MD, a hematologist-oncologist in practice for 49 years; reappointed as a consultant to the TMA Committee on Cancer.

Larry A. Warmoth, MD, a nephrologist in practice for 24 years; appointed chair of TMA’s Committee on Continuing Education.

Descriptions of the councils and committees:

Read the descriptions and responsibilities of each TMA council and committee.

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing more than 55,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.


Contact:  Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; cell: (512) 656-7320
Marcus Cooper (512) 370-1382; cell: (512) 650-5336

Connect with TMA on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Last Updated On

July 08, 2021

Originally Published On

July 08, 2021

Related Content