Austin-Area Physicians Elected to Represent Texas at AMA

May 15, 2021

Three Austin-area physicians were elected to represent Texas doctors in the American Medical Association (AMA) House of Delegates, the national organization’s policymaking body. The Texas Medical Association (TMA) House of Delegates announced the election of the physician leaders today during TexMed, TMA’s annual conference, held virtually again this year.

Kimberly Avila Edwards, MD, an Austin pediatrician in practice for 19 years, was elected to serve as an alternate delegate.

Robert H. Emmick Jr., MD, an Austin emergency medicine physician in practice for 26 years, was reelected to serve as an alternate delegate.

Both physicians named above are members of the Travis County Medical Society.

Matthew McGlennon, DO, a resident physician in training, was reelected as an alternate delegate. Dr. McGlennon is a member of the Williamson County Medical Society.

As part of the Texas Delegation to the AMA, the physicians will take policy adopted by the TMA House of Delegates forward to the AMA House of Delegates. In addition, they will advocate on the national level for Texas patients and physicians.

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing more than 55,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.


Contact: Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; cell: (512) 656-7320
Marcus Cooper (512) 370-1382; cell: (512) 650-5336

Connect with TMA on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.


Last Updated On

May 24, 2021

Originally Published On

May 15, 2021

Related Content

Leadership | TexMed