San Antonio-Area Physicians Rejoin TMA Ethics Panel(1)

May 18, 2019

Two San Antonio-area physicians were reconfirmed to serve on the Texas Medical Association (TMA) Board of Councilors, the organization’s ethical policymaking body. TMA physicians confirmed the doctors to serve a new three-year term on the board, representing the district located in the San Antonio and Southwest Texas area.

Donald J. Gordon, MD, a Helotes emergency physician in practice for 39 years, was reconfirmed to serve as councilor. 

K. Ashok Kumar, MD, a San Antonio family physician in practice for 24 years, was reconfirmed to serve as vice councilor. 

Both physicians are members of the Bexar County Medical Society.

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing nearly 53,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.

-- 30 --

Contact:  Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; cell: (512) 656-7320; email: brent.annear[at]texmed[dot]org

Marcus Cooper (512) 370-1382; cell: (512) 650-5336; email: marcus.cooper[at]texmed[dot]org

Connect with TMA on Twitter, Facebook, or Instagram

Check out for interesting and timely news on health care issues and policy.



Last Updated On

May 20, 2019

Related Content

Leadership | TexMed