TMA Award for Excellence in Academic Medicine

In September 2012, the first TMA award program was launched to recognize physicians for exemplary achievement in academic medicine.  Developed by the TMA Subcommittee for Academic Physicians and approved by the Council on Medical Education, the TMA Award for Excellence in Academic Medicine has four recognition levels ranging from Bronze, up to Platinum to honor these academic physicians for achievements in teaching, role-modeling, mentoring, professional development, and service. Eligibility requirements  increase for each level. 

2014 Winners 

2014 Silver and Gold Level Recipients
Front: Surendra K. Varma, MD, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Lubbock; Cheryl L. Hurd, MD, University of North Texas Health Science Center; Back: Kevin Hood McKinney, MD, The University of Texas Medical Branch; Rodney B. Young, MD, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Amarillo (center); G. Sealy Massingill, MD, University of North Texas Health Science Center  

Not sure which level of recognition is a good fit for you?  The Bronze, Silver, and Gold Levels are all self-nominating and noncompetitive.  See a quick view of criteria. The sole Platinum level winner is selected each year from Gold level recipients by a selection committee comprised of TMA member physicians. There is a $5,000 cash award for the Platinum Award winner each year. In the 2012-13 cycle, the $5,000 cash award was provided through a generous grant from the Texas Medical Association Foundation. Gold Level recipients remain eligible for the annual Platinum Award for three years, with no need to reapply during that time period. There is no cash award for and no limit on the number of Bronze, Silver, and Gold Level recipients. All recipients receive a printed certificate  and are recognized by the TMA Council on Medical Education and Subcommittee for Academic Physicians at TexMed each year. In addition, winners are recognized in TMA's award-winning news magazine, Texas Medicine; in the monthly e-newsletter It’s Academic; and in the Handbook for Delegates for the TMA House of Delegates annual meeting. We hope that this award will be valuable to faculty in qualifying for promotions or new positions, as well as other types of professional, job-related recognition.

Criteria Quick View

Level     Bronze     Silver   Gold
Years in academic faculty position     3 in the past 10 years     5 in the past 10 years     10 in the past 15 years
Years of clinical supervision of students/residents/fellows     3 in the past 10 years     5 in the past 10 years     10 in the past 15 years
Number of TMA meetings     At least 2     At least 5     At least 7
Years of maintained TMA membership     At least 3     At least 5     At least 5
Performance Milestones     1 activity     5 activities     10 activities
Role Modeling in Leadership, Advocacy/Health Policy and Community Service     1 activity     2 activities     4 activities

*The Platinum award recipient is selected from Gold Level recipients.

View complete Award Criteria (PDF) 

Tips for a Successful Self-nomination  

  • Before beginning an application, evaluate each award level to find the best fit for you.
  • Community-based educators may find the Bronze and Silver levels fit best.
  • Articles published in newsletters, non-peer reviewed magazines, and the like are not considered scholarly activity, for the purposes of this program.
  • The reference to “organized medicine” in the criteria refers to the Federation of Medicine, including the American Medical Association, the Texas Medical Association, county medical societies, national and state medical specialty societies, and academic medical societies.
  • Some criteria are time-specific while others are open-ended, as identified in the application forms. 


Please direct your questions about the program to: Jennifer McHaney:; (800) 880-1300, ext. 1451, or (512) 370-1451.  

Comment on this (Must be logged in to comment)

Add Comment

Text Only 2000 character limit

Looking for more?