Nominations Closed for the 2014-15 Cycle

The 2014-15 Cycle Has Closed--Check Back In Fall 2015 to Apply!

This multi-level award program was developed by the TMA Subcommittee for Academic Physicians to give special recognition to academic physicians who are consummate teachers, role models, and medical professionals. The program has four recognition levels: Bronze, Silver, Gold, and Platinum, and eligibility requirements increase for each level. Bronze, Silver and Gold levels are also self-nominating and the Platinum Award winner is selected by a physician committee from among the Gold-Level recipients and will receive a $5,000 cash award generously provided through a grant from the Texas Medical Association Foundation.  Physicians who receive Gold-Level recognition remain eligible for the Platinum Award for three years.

Please consider nominating a physician you feel should be recognized by TMA for their achievements in teaching and service to academic medicine, using the nomination form found here

Nomination Process

To nominate a TMA physician member to receive recognition through this award program, you must be a TMA member. 

Due to the specific and detailed eligibility requirements for the Bronze, Silver, and Gold levels, we are not able to accept nominations for a particular level of the program and physicians receiving a nomination will be required to submit an application form. After you complete the nomination form, the nominee will be notified and encouraged to complete an application for the award level they feel is the fit best.  If we do not receive a completed application by the nominee by Dec. 8, 2014, the Selection Committee will not be able to consider them for recognition.

Physicians may also continue to self-nominate by submitting an application for the award level you feel is the best fit for you. You do not need to fill out a nomination form to self-nominate. We encourage you to consider applying to get the credit you are due! 

Please fill out the nomination form by Nov. 14, 2014, to allow the nominee ample time to complete the required application materials by the Dec. 8, 2014 deadline. You may submit a nomination form for up to five nominees. 

When considering a nominee, please keep in mind the following minimum requirements for the award program:

Eligible applicants must:  

  • Be a member of TMA (minimum of 3 years) 
  • Have been in a faculty position for a minimum of 3 years (adjunct faculty included!) 
  • Have provided a minimum of 3 years of supervision of students, residents, and/or fellows, while actively engaged in the profession of medicine 
  • Be able to demonstrate completion of specific performance milestones, leadership roles, advocacy for organized medicine, and participation in community service, as outlined in the criteria description table and the application forms. 

Nominate a Physician Now 

Comment on this (Must be logged in to comment)

Add Comment

Text Only 2000 character limit

Looking for more?