• Young Physician Section

    • What is the Young Physician Section?

      All physicians under the age of 40 or in their first eight years of practice are considered "young physicians." With your TMA physician membership, you are included in the TMA Young Physician Section (YPS) and are encouraged to participate in its activities and meetings.

      The YPS provides a means for physicians under the age of 40 or in their first eight years of practice to participate in activities and programs relevant to the physician just entering practice. The section provides input into TMA policy through direct access and representation in the House of Delegates.

      To apply for TMA membership, complete the online application form.

  • Young Physician Section News and Information

    • Executive Council Elections

      The TMA Young Physician Section Executive Council is elected annually to direct Section activities. Congrats to the 2015-2016 team.
    • Join the Leadership College

      Are you ready to take the next step in your personal leadership journey? The TMA Leadership College was established as part of TMA's effort to ensure strong and sustainable physician leadership with organized medicine.
    • Fall Conference 2015

      Join us for the next YPS Business Meeting on Friday, September 25 at the Hyatt Lost Pines during TMA's 2015 Fall Conference. Conference attendance is free for all TMA members.
    • NEW ICD-10 Seminar

      Essentials in ICD-10 Documentation seminar coming Aug. 4 – Sept. 16. Accurate coding and billing depend on accurate and comprehensive physician documentation. Does your documentation support the right ICD-10 code? Use code EPROMO for $20 off!
  • Section Resources

    • YPS Memo Newsletter
      A monthly report to all young physicians from the TMA Board of Trustees. The newsletter serves as a communication tool to address distinctive issues affecting young physicians.
    • TMA Leadership College
      The Texas Medical Association Leadership College  (TMALC) is an intensive leadership program designed to identify, orient, and train young TMA members for future leadership positions at the county and state levels.
    • Calendar of Events
      See all upcoming TMA events.
    • Michael O'Malley, MD Memorial Scholarship
      In 2007, the YPS Rural Scholarship was transformed into a memorial scholarship for Michael O’Malley, MD. Dr. O’Malley, a recipient of a similar scholarship himself, was an internal medicine physician in Galveston and past chair of the TMA Young Physician Section. In his memory, this $1,000 award is given to a rural Texas high school senior who excels in science, for use toward continuing his or her education in the field of medicine. 

      All outstanding rural high school seniors interested in pursuing their education and becoming a physician can apply for this award. The future of medicine depends on a high-quality applicant pool, and this scholarship helps assure the most talented students have the opportunity topursue a career in medicine.

      Applications must be postmarked by Jan. 15, 2016, and mailed to Texas Medical Association, YPS Coordinator, 401 West 15th Street, Austin, TX 78701. The scholarship winner will be notified by mail in March 2016.

      To ensure the continued work of this scholarship, make a donation by contacting the TMA Knowledge Center at (800) 880-7955.
    • AMA Young Physician Section
      The American Medical Association Young Physicians Section (AMA-YPS), representing a quarter of all practicing physicians, focuses on the concerns of those physicians under 40 years of age or within the first eight (8) years of professional practice after residency and fellowship training.