2013 TMA Anson Jones, MD, Awards Open for Entries

Texas journalists: Showcase your great medical news story or series from 2012 in the Texas Medical Association (TMA) Anson Jones, MD, Awards. The competition is now open and free to enter. Entries are due Jan. 15, 2013.

New for 2013 is the Texas Health Journalist of the Year category to recognize a body of work produced in a single year by a print, broadcast, or online journalist. The work could include articles/reports on a specific topic or on a variety of topics about medicine or health care. An article or news story can be entered in one category and also be part of a body of work submitted for the journalist of the year award.

The Texas Health Journalist of the Year receives $1,000 and a plaque. All other winning entries receive $500 and one plaque, and individual winners each receive a certificate. Honorable mentions, if awarded, receive a certificate.

Entries are judged by TMA physicians and members of TMA’s Council on Health Promotion, and respected journalists from the news publishing and broadcast fields.

Visit the TMA Anson Jones, MD, Awards webpage to enter. While there, check out past winners and their work.