Know any Outstanding Science Teachers? Nominate Them for a TMA Grant
By David Doolittle


As the school year progresses, plenty of great science teachers are educating the next generation of physicians.

You can help those outstanding educators become even better teachers by nominating them for the Texas Medical Association’s Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching.

The award was created in 1990 to honor elementary, middle, and high school teachers who share their energy and enthusiasm for science through creative and innovative methods to cultivate student interest in medicine and science.

The awards are open to full-time public and private school teachers who have been teaching in classrooms for at least two years, and are teaching during the 2020-21 school year.

Up for grabs is $51,500:

  • Three first-place Texas science teachers will each receive $6,000, a $2,000 resource grant for their school science curriculum, and an all-expense paid trip to TexMed 2020 (TMA's annual conference) in Fort Worth for the award ceremony.
  • Second-place winners each receive $4,000 and another $1,000 for their schools.
  • Rookie awards of $1,500 plus $1,000 for their schools are made to teachers who have taught for less than five years.
  • One overall winner: TMA will award one first-place winner with an additional $5,000 teacher award - to be announced at our presentation ceremony. 

Nominations are accepted through Dec. 3.

The awards are made possible with a grant from the TMA Foundation, which is supported through an endowment generously established by Dr. and Mrs. Ernest C. Butler and gifts from physicians and their families.

Last Updated On

October 15, 2019

Originally Published On

August 23, 2019