Lone Star Caucus Scholarship Winners Committed to Serving the Medically Underserved

2023 Lone Star Caucus Winners 600x280

Inspired by their drive to provide medical care for those in need, five Texas medical students were selected to receive a $1,500 scholarship from the Lone Star Caucus (LSC). 

The LSC, comprised of smaller, nonmetro county medical societies, awards the scholarships annually to medical students who are enrolled and in good standing in Texas medical schools, have demonstrated an interest in serving medically underserved populations in Texas, and exhibit strong leadership skills.

“These scholarships for students from the Lone Star Caucus counties help ensure continued access to medical care for underserved Texans,” said LSC Scholarship/Awards Chair Nefertiti duPont, MD, an OB-Gyn in Shenandoah. “The caucus wants to encourage future physicians to return home and practice locally.”

Each of the Lone Star Caucus Medical Student Scholarship recipients are committed to improving access to quality care. This year’s recipients are:

  • Sheina Duncan. A fourth-year medical student at the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, Ms. Duncan founded and led a mentorship and tutoring program offering economically disadvantaged students opportunities to explore careers in a STEM field. As a physician, she plans to bridge the gap between underserved populations and access to healthcare in small Texas communities.
  • Nayeli Fuentes. A fourth-year medical student at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center who grew up lacking medical care, Ms. Fuentes now plans to practice family medicine and open a free clinic in her hometown of Mount Pleasant.
  • Lizette Gutierrez. A fourth-year medical student at UTMB and a first-generation female medical student, Ms. Gutierrez plans to serve and advocate for communities in rural Texas. She will train as a family physician and hopes to mentor future first-generation medical students.
  • Marvelyn Iweh. A fourth-year medical student at TTUHSC, Ms. Iweh’s goal is to improve the quality of vision health to communities that are disproportionately affected by blindness and other preventable vision issues.
  • Zachary Speciale. A third-year medical student at TTUHSC, Mr. Speciale will practice internal medicine and plans to address the healthcare disparities of LGBTQ+ individuals as well as medically underserved communities in rural Texas.

The LSC raises scholarship funds from caucus members, and the Texas Medical Association’s Office of Trust Fund Administration manages donation collection via a (501)(c)(3) charitable fund.  

Donations can be made online (login required) or by sending a check, payable to TMA Special Funds Foundation, Attn: Finance Dept/Lone Star Caucus Scholarship, 401 W. 15th St., Austin, TX 78701-1680.

Applications for the 2024 Lone Star Caucus Medical Student Scholarships will open next January. If you have questions about the scholarships, email the Lone Star Caucus.

Last Updated On

August 07, 2023

Originally Published On

August 07, 2023

Related Content