Anson Jones Awards Has a Category for You

Do you write a medical column for your local newspaper? Or host a health show on the radio, or maybe do a weekly medical segment on the local TV news, or host a health care blog? If so, showcase your talents! Enter the TMA Anson Jones, MD, Awards program in the Physician Excellence in Reporting category.

For more than 50 years, TMA has honored award-winning Texas general-interest news media with the Anson Jones, MD, Awards for excellent medical news reporting. Now TMA has a category specifically for "physician-reporters.". Doctors understand best the value of communicating accurate health and medical information to patients via the news media.

Anson Jones Award winners receive recognition from TMA physician peers and a plaque or framed certificate. The competition is free to enter, so if you are a Texas physician who regularly reports health news in your local print, broadcast, or online general-interest news media, enter your award-winning work today.

This year's winners are:

  • M. Antonieta Gonzalez, MD, of San Antonio, for a series of health news columns in English and Spanish in La Prensa, her community's multilingual newspaper; and
  • Emily Hebert, MD, of Dallas, for two patient-awareness health segments on WFAA-TV, Dallas.

TMA must receive your entry by Jan. 15, so plan now. Visit the TMA website  for directions, contest rules, and an entry form. You may also email TMA's Brent Annear, or call him at (800) 880-1300, ext. 1381, or (512) 370-1381.

Action, Nov. 15, 2011

Last Updated On

October 09, 2019

Originally Published On

November 10, 2011