Science Teaching Nominations Set Record

TMA received a record 412 nominations for the 2010 Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching by the Dec. 18 deadline.  

The awards recognize outstanding elementary, middle, and high school teachers who exhibit a personal commitment and enthusiasm for teaching any area of science. Three teachers will receive $5,000 each, and their schools will receive $2,000 awards. The winners will be honored at TexMed 2010 in Fort Worth. 

The University of Texas Charles A. Dana Center has volunteered its science team's expertise to participate as round one judges of the awards. The team will determine finalists in each of the three categories, and TMA's three-member Board of Trustees committee will select the recipients. 

The program is named to recognize the generosity of Dr. and Mrs. Ernest C. Butler, of Austin, who have established an endowment with the TMA Foundation (TMAF) to provide core support for the award. TMAF still needs to raise $10,000 of the additional $25,000 needed to fully fund the 2010 program. To be part of the 2010 award program and ensure outstanding science teachers are recognized for their excellence, please consider making a donation now by visiting the  TMAF Web page .

Action , Feb. 1, 2010

Last Updated On

September 09, 2010