TMA Foundation Is Calling All Health Champions


Since 1995, the Texas Medical Association Foundation (TMAF) has recognized exceptional local and statewide programs that address urgent threats to the public’s health or that promote healthy lives and healthy communities through its John P. McGovern Champion of Health Award

The foundation is now seeking nominations for the 2021 Champion of Health Award, which carries a first-place prize of $7,500. 

The award furthers the TMA Foundation’s mission “to help physicians create a healthier future for all Texans,” by recognizing others who share TMA’s health-improvement goals, including non-profit organizations, school districts, volunteers, elected officials, and individuals. 

Is there a worthy health improvement program in your community? If so, consider nominating it for the 2021 award. 

The 2020 top prize went to Health For All Inc. of Bryan, a nonprofit that provides low-income, uninsured community members with free basic medical care. 

Nominations for the 2021 award are now being accepted.  

If the program is selected, several things will happen:

  • The top winner will receive a $7,500 grant;
  • The second-place winner will receive $3,000;
  • Your community will be proud to have a champion in its midst; and
  • You’ll feel great knowing that you’ve helped support healthy living in Texas. That’s a win-win-win-win!

The award is named after John P. McGovern, MD, a philanthropist and humanitarian who founded the John P. McGovern Foundation in Houston. Dr. McGovern established a permanent endowment at TMAF that supports this award.

Deadline for entries is Oct. 31; winners will be notified in December. 

Learn more and make a nomination online, or contact TMAF at (800) 880-1300, ext. 1664, or (512) 370-1664 for more information.

Last Updated On

July 29, 2020

Originally Published On

July 29, 2020

Related Content

TMA Foundation