San Angelo Physicians Assume TMA Leadership Positions

September 12, 2019

Two San Angelo physicians will begin new terms in Texas Medical Association (TMA) leadership positions during the TMA Fall Conference this week.

TMA leaders appoint or elect TMA physicians and medical students to one of TMA’s 25 boards, councils, and committees. They are responsible for studying health care-related issues and making recommendations on important health care policy affecting Texas patients and their physicians, as well as vetting medical ethics issues.

Celeste X. Caballero, MD, a pediatrician in practice for seven years, was elected to TMA’s Council on Legislation. The council monitors and develops strategies regarding pending legislation and initiates legislative policies at the state and national levels to improve our health care system.

Stuart L. Abramson, MD, an allergist in practice for 27 years, was appointed to serve on TMA’s Board of Councilors, the organization’s ethical policymaking body. Dr. Abramson will represent District 4, which comprises 11 counties in the Concho Valley and Far West Texas.

Both physicians are members of the Concho Valley County Medical Society.

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing nearly 53,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.


Contact:  Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; cell: (512) 656-7320

Marcus Cooper (512) 370-1382; cell: (512) 650-5336

Connect with TMA on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Check out for interesting and timely news on health care issues and policy.

Last Updated On

September 12, 2019

Related Content