Denton-Area Physicians to Begin Serving in TMA Leadership Positions

September 9, 2019

Two Denton-area physicians will begin serving in Texas Medical Association (TMA) leadership positions this week during the TMA Fall Conference.

TMA leaders appoint or elect TMA member physicians and medical students to one of TMA’s 25 boards, councils, and committees. They are responsible for studying health care-related issues and making recommendations on important health care policy affecting Texas patients and their physicians.


Kiran K. Panuganti, MD, a family physician in practice for four years, was appointed to serve a three-year term on the TMA Council on Constitution and Bylaws. The council serves as an advisory body on matters pertaining to the TMA Constitution and Bylaws, and handles long-range organizational planning.


A. Clay Cessna, DO, a pediatrician in practice for 12 years, was reappointed to serve a new three-year term on TMA’s Patient-Physician Advocacy Committee. The committee evaluates the quality of medical care in Texas and recommends regulatory, legislative, and legal approaches to ensure the highest standard of health care is available for all Texas patients.

The physicians are members of the Denton County Medical Society.

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing nearly 53,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.


Contact:  Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; cell: (512) 656-7320

Marcus Cooper (512) 370-1382; cell: (512) 650-5336

Connect with TMA on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Check out for interesting and timely news on health care issues and policy.

Last Updated On

September 09, 2019

Related Content