Donors Invest in Healthy Future

Since the 1990’s, individuals and organizations with a passion for a healthy future have generously invested in future physicians and science educators by supporting two TMA programs: the TMA Minority Scholarship Program (MSP) and the Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching (STA). On May 17 at TMA’s TexMed in Dallas, TMA and TMA Foundation honored the three first place STA winners and 12 minority student scholarship recipients who will enter Texas medical schools this fall.

The 2019 TMA Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching are made possible with a grant from the Texas Medical Association Foundation, which is supported through an endowment generously established at the TMA Foundation by Dr. and Mrs. Ernest C. Butler and gifts from physicians and their families. TMA awards teachers at the elementary, middle, and high school levels for playing an instrumental role in creating tomorrow’s physicians by stirring student interest and excitement in science. Teachers receive cash prizes, and their schools receive cash resource grants to enhance their science program.

TMA created the Minority Scholarship Program in 1998 to help diversify the physician workforce to meet the health care needs of Texans. TMAF also funds this program thanks to majority support provided by the TMA Foundation Trust Fund of Roberto J. Bayardo, MD, and the late Agniela (Annie) M. Bayardo of Houston and in recognition, recipients are known as the “Bayardo Scholars.” Other generous gifts from H-E-B, the TMAF Patrick Y. Leung Minority Scholarship Endowment, TMAF donor physicians and their families, and TMA county medical societies support the scholarships which are $10,000 each.

The scholarships encourage minority students to attend medical school by lessening the financial burden of their postgraduate education, which averages more than $175,000. TMA has awarded 148 scholarships totaling $967,500 since the program’s inception.

Last Updated On

May 28, 2019