Austin Physicians Reelected to Represent Texas at AMA

May 18, 2019

Two Austin physicians were elected today to represent Texas doctors in the American Medical Association’s (AMA’s) House of Delegates, the national organization’s policymaking body. The Texas Medical Association’s (TMA’s) House of Delegates elected the physician leaders in Dallas during TexMed, TMA’s annual conference.

Robert H. Emmick Jr., MD, an emergency physician of 24 years, was reelected as an alternate delegate.

Myphuong T. (Theresa) Phan, MD, a family physician in residency training, was reelected as an alternate delegate, representing TMA’s Resident and Fellow Section on the Texas Delegation.

Both physicians are members of the Travis County Medical Society. 

As part of the Texas Delegation to the AMA, the physicians will take policy adopted by the TMA House of Delegates forward to the AMA House of Delegates. In addition, they will advocate on the national level for Texas patients and physicians.

TMA is the largest state medical society in the nation, representing nearly 53,000 physician and medical student members. It is located in Austin and has 110 component county medical societies around the state. TMA’s key objective since 1853 is to improve the health of all Texans.


Contact:  Brent Annear (512) 370-1381; cell: (512) 656-7320; email: brent.annear[at]texmed[dot]org

Marcus Cooper (512) 370-1382; cell: (512) 650-5336; email: marcus.cooper[at]texmed[dot]org

Connect with TMA on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Check out for interesting and timely news on health care issues and policy.

Last Updated On

May 18, 2019

Related Content

Leadership | TexMed