TMA Honors Health News Reporting
By Tammy Wishard


Since 1957, the Texas Medical Association has honored outstanding health reporting by Texas print, television, radio, online, and physician journalists with its TMA Anson Jones, MD, Awards

TMA’s Council on Health Promotion oversees the awards, which are presented to journalists in their newsrooms. 

In 2018, Melissa Fletcher Stoeltje of the San Antonio Express-News was named Texas Health Reporter of the Year for a package of stories that touched on the opioid crisis and the effects of the Texas Legislature’s defunding of Planned Parenthood on women’s health. One of the judges summed up Ms. Stoeltje’s work this way: “Melissa presents a news story in the context of a real person’s story which makes it very engaging.” 

You can see the 2018 winners and their winning entries on the TMA website.

Nominations for 2019 Anson Jones Awards are now open, and TMA wants you to tell us about the best stories you’ve seen, heard, or read this year. The contest features 12 award categories, including one that recognizes physician and medical student journalists who write/produce health news that appears regularly in a general-interest Texas news media outlet.  

TMA physicians, medical students, TMA Alliance members, and county medical societies can nominate journalists for the awards. (Journalists also can enter their own work in the competition.) Five of 2018’s winners were nominated by a TMA Family member. 

“We’ve already had a year packed with health news, from maternal mortality, to disease outbreaks, to Hurricane Harvey aftermath,” said Elizabeth Torres, MD, of Sugar Land, chair of TMA’s Council on Health Promotion. “Take a minute to let TMA know when you notice quality reporting so we can enter the journalist into the awards contest .” 

It’s easy to nominate journalists:

  1. Email your nomination to ansonjones[at]texmed[dot]org. All TMA needs is the reporter’s name, name of story (if available), date of broadcast/publication, and the media outlet. Please try to include a web URL.
  2. TMA will send the reporter a postcard with a hand-written note to let the reporter know you nominated him/her, and for which story. 


Visit the TMA website for complete nomination details, contest rules, and categories. If you have questions, call Tammy Wishard, TMA Outreach Coordinator, at (800) 880-1300 ext. 1470, or (512) 370-1470, or email ansonjones[at]texmed[dot]org.

Last Updated On

November 26, 2018

Related Content

Anson Jones, MD, Awards

Tammy Wishard

Outreach Coordinator, Division of Communication

(512) 370-1470
Tammy Wishard

Tammy Wishard is TMA’s outreach coordinator. She manages TMA's award-winning Hard Hats for Little Heads and Be Wise — Immunize programs, and the Anson Jones, MD, Awards for excellence in health reporting. She has a 20-plus-year history with TMA, where she started as a writer/editor. Tammy, an Iowa native, is a graduate of Abilene Christian University.

More stories by Tammy Wishard