Physician, Med Student Journalists: Enter TMA Contest

Do you moonlight as a medical reporter? Maybe you write a medical column or articles for your local newspaper or magazine. Or perhaps you host a health-focused segment on a local TV or radio station. If so, get recognized for your work in the TMA Anson Jones, MD, Awards contest.

“Physicians have a unique ability to explain difficult concepts and give insight into complex issues, and local media outlets are perfect forums for this,” said  2017 physician winner Sidney C. Roberts, MD, of Lufkin. “I can think of no better way to educate a wide local audience.”

The Physician Excellence in Reporting category is designed for physicians and medical-student reporters who regularly contribute to general-interest media aimed at a Texas public audience. (Eleven other award categories honor professional journalists in print, television, radio, and online media.)

Dr. Roberts said receiving the Anson Jones award validated the importance he places on his role beyond the clinic. “I am first and foremost a physician, but I believe one of my duties is to educate the community about health care issues in a way that positively impacts their health.” (Read Dr. Roberts’ winning article.)

Enter your work today. Any news story published or broadcast in 2017 is eligible. TMA will accept entries until noon on Jan. 10, 2018. You also can nominate a colleague who is an outstanding medical journalist — or a local professional journalist (nonphysician). 

TMA has honored Texas journalists for excellent medical news reporting for more than 60 years. Visit the Anson Jones webpage for complete contest details. 

If you have questions, call Tammy Wishard, TMA outreach coordinator, at (800) 880-1300, ext. 1470, or (512) 370-1470, or email ansonjones[at]texmed[dot]org

Action, Dec. 15, 2017

Last Updated On

December 16, 2017

Related Content

Anson Jones, MD, Awards